We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at Leathes Head for one night only on a DB&B basis.
The setting of the place is delightful - in beautiful countryside but 3 miles or so out of Keswick. Plenty of places to go for a stroll before dinner - we were out for 2 hours on a lesiurely stroll down to the lake etc - you dont need all the walking gear for that!
We stayed in room 5 which is just a classic bedroom - it was very clean and comfortable and contained everything that we needed. It looks like the bathroom had just been refurbished as it had a lovely walk in shower and a spa bath (although there was not enough hot water to fill it as the hotel was having "boiler issues" - i found out the next morning!) There were fantastic views over the fields to the lake in the distance - truly delightful.
Our evening meal was very good and the wine list relatively inexpensive - very good value. My only complaint was that i had cod on a risotto base as a main course and the whole thing was tasteless. It wasn't bad enough to send back but just disappointing, although i may have been expecting too much after my 'wild boar burger' starter which was exceptional. Breakfast was also excellent - plenty of food and very tasty indeed.
The staff were all very friendly and it was a very nice place to be.
Overall, for the price we paid, i don't think you could stay anywhere better. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a classic double with a fantastic bathroom and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BootsMaloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    27
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
206
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Excellent stay. Very friendly and helpful.Wonderful food.Bedroom cozy and comfortable. Bathroom spacious and clean. .A conservatory overlooking stunning views . Brilliant location for walks and touring. Wish we were staying more than one night!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cm4sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at Leathes Head Hotel as part of a group on a reunion weekend and we all had a great weekend.
The food and accomodation was excellent but the friendly and helpful service provided by all the staff created a fantastic atmosphere that made the weekend even more special.
We've already booked our stay for next year and we are looking forward to another great weekend.

Room Tip: The price of rooms adequately reflect the quality of each room. All are good, clean and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_W_13648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed in the superior spa room which is absolutely fabulous, large room, beautifully decorated, views to the fells and derwent water. Luxurious bathroom with spa bath. Make sure you eat at the hotel as the food is exceptional and the staff are all very friendly, nothing is a bother and the mood is very relaxed. Will definitely return. A walk from the hotel up Catbells is a must - spectacular views through 360 degrees

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnthewallNorthumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Excellent hotel and superb staff. My husband and I stayed at the Leathes Head with our dog. The look is a luxury, charming country house hotel and the atmosphere created by the staff is 100% relaxed, welcoming and down to earth. This hotel offered fantastic value for money and we will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiacatBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have just spent three happy days at Leathes Head. Jane and Jamie create a relaxed,friendly atmosphere, where nothing seems too much trouble. All the staff are most welcoming and efficient.Chef David and his team produce excellent and varied meals and there is a good choice of wines.The house is set in beautiful surroundings and there are several walks from the front door.[You don't necessarily have to go uphill ! ] We return each year because it is one of our favourite hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel gets all the little things right, that then makes the overall experience a delight.
The food is especially worthy of praise. We will definitely be visiting again and strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
20.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head Country House Hotel

Property: The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Address: Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Leathes Head Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing