We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
258
30
14
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
258
30
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathsmall hotellake districthoggetgreat hostssmall teammeat fishbird feedersborrowdale valleysuperior roomplenty of parking spaceperfect balanceshows howwithout being intrusivedining roomwalk in showerhigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Not sure how this place is only a three star hotel, it was perfect.
The staff, especially Jamie and Tim were superb.
The value including dinner and breakfast was amazing, they even have excellent champagne that is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was a late booking and was an outstanding choice. The location in Borrowdale is absolutely stunning. The fabric, decor and comfort of the hotel is faultless. The staff are friendly and totally helpful in every way. First class restaurant with brilliant service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrianMeliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here for a walking weekend in April. This place is a gem - exactly how a hotel should be. The setting is magnificent, the staff are wonderful, and the restaurant is about as good as it gets. The staff - in particular the chef - must really take a pride in what they do here. Not desperately cheap, but worth it. Niggles? - decor in the room was a bit naff - rather a lot of knotty pine, and bathroom fittings from the economy section of the tradesmens' catalogue, albeit nicely fitted - but a minor niggle in the grand scheme of things. Feel a bit mean giving it four stars rather than five. Having said that, this is the nicest hotel we've stayed in for a long time. Really, really recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulB1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at Leathes Head hotel for one night with dinner. Warm welcome from Jamie who showed us to our room, comfortable with a very good bathroom. We enjoyed our meal in the lovely dinning room, with very good service from Tim. The Hotel is in a great spot in Borrowdale and with the sun shinning plus watching the lambs in the adjoining field when having our meal it added to an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at Leathes Head for one night only on a DB&B basis.
The setting of the place is delightful - in beautiful countryside but 3 miles or so out of Keswick. Plenty of places to go for a stroll before dinner - we were out for 2 hours on a lesiurely stroll down to the lake etc - you dont need all the walking gear for that!
We stayed in room 5 which is just a classic bedroom - it was very clean and comfortable and contained everything that we needed. It looks like the bathroom had just been refurbished as it had a lovely walk in shower and a spa bath (although there was not enough hot water to fill it as the hotel was having "boiler issues" - i found out the next morning!) There were fantastic views over the fields to the lake in the distance - truly delightful.
Our evening meal was very good and the wine list relatively inexpensive - very good value. My only complaint was that i had cod on a risotto base as a main course and the whole thing was tasteless. It wasn't bad enough to send back but just disappointing, although i may have been expecting too much after my 'wild boar burger' starter which was exceptional. Breakfast was also excellent - plenty of food and very tasty indeed.
The staff were all very friendly and it was a very nice place to be.
Overall, for the price we paid, i don't think you could stay anywhere better. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a classic double with a fantastic bathroom and fantastic views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BootsMaloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews