We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borrowdale - quality and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Looking for a different hotel In the Lakes, I came across Leathes Head. (Previous choice with which we had been very happy for several years was pricing itself out of the range for value!).
It is well situated in Borrowdale for a range of walks and is within walking distance of Grange and the Keswick bus service.
The room (number 10 ) was extremely well presented and clean. Being on the ground floor it would be suitable for people with limited mobility. The menu was not extensive but offered several choices augmented with a range of special dishes each night. Continental breakfast was on the limited side from a variety perspective but perhaps that is
because I am always looking for something better than my normal day-to-day fare when I am on holiday! Staff were without exception pleasant.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I hope we can return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constable2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a fabulous stay, hotel was located in a peaceful area just what we needed to relax. Hotel was great and the staff were friendly and very welcoming. Food was excellent. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Despite being on the ground floor view was still great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wellibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We managed to get a last minute booking through the internet. We had a lovely Deluxe Double room (no 1) that was airy, elegant and comfortable. It overlooked the side of the house, with views of trees and the car park. The bed was large and very comfy. The dining area had windows on two sides and the views were breath taking. Breakfast was lovely and the bacon was the nicest I’ve tasted for a long time. Dinner was everything you would expect from a first class restaurant and a welcome surprise in a three star hotel. The staff were attentive, without being intrusive, and couldn’t do enough for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night in August and would have to say that this was one of the best if not the best hotel we have stayed in. Although only small it is welcoming but very intimate. The setting was so peaceful and quiet set back from the main road. The room was spotlessly clean and very spacious and also make sure you make use of the spa bath if you can. But for me the highlight was the food that was served up, immaculate presentation and flavours to tingle any taste buds, especially the dessert. The owners Jane and Jamie went out of their way to ensure all your needs were catered for and we would not hesitate in returning and would recommend this to anyone looking for top class food and service.

Room Tip: Room 6, stunning views to wake up to.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovenyc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Leathes Head for a family birthday weekend and had a great stay. The hotel is lovely, with many original Edwardian features, and is set back from the road in pretty grounds with beautiful views. It's small, so feels cosy and intimate, and the staff were really friendly and welcoming. The service they provided was attentive without being intrusive, and when we were slightly late arriving back for dinner one night owing to a tiny bit of a miscalculation (!) in how long it took us to climb Scafell Pike, there was no problem pushing the time slot back half an hour.

The food was fantastic, at breakfast but especially at dinner, with plenty of choice, beautifully cooked and presented. There is a really wide choice of wines and a well-stocked bar. The four-course dinner for four, plus pre-dinner drinks, £35 bottle of wine with dinner and coffee and (I think home-made) chocolates afterwards came to around £185 (if my maths is right) which I thought was reasonable given the high quality of the food. I especially liked the fact that there was a wide choice in both food and drink, as often in UK hotels choices are limited to three or four options, which wasn't the case here. Even at breakfast there were about five or six cooked or continental options in addition to a buffet that included cereals, fruit, croissants etc.

The only (little) issue was that the guest rooms we stayed in were in need of renovation - the furniture is quite dated and the walls quite bare, and one of the bathrooms was tiny and definitely in need of re-doing. However it's my understanding that the rooms are being renovated bit by bit by the new owners Jane and Jamie, and the bathroom in one of our rooms had already been renovated and was really nice, with a whirlpool bath and 'wet-room' shower. There were also nice toiletries and big fluffy towels in both bathrooms, plus a 'smart' TV, wifi and well-stocked tea and coffee supplies in the room which made up for it. The beds were comfy too.

All in all we had a lovely weekend and can thoroughly recommend the Leathes Head. We've stayed in quite a few hotels in the Lakes over the years and this is definitely going to be a favourite. We will be back, and look forward to seeing how the renovations are going.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We found time earlier this week for a brief return to our favourite Lakeland hideaway - and everything was just as wonderful as ever. Jane and Jamie made us feel just as welcome as they always do. Our spacious room, with views to die for, was luxuriously appointed and we enjoyed breakfast, dinner and a most generous packed lunch. A brilliant mid- week deal made it really great vfm too. We cannot recommend this little gem of a country house hotel, situated in what we think is one of the very loveliest of spots in England, strongly enough. We shall be returning very soon - I'm delighted to say.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here with my husband as part of a family group (7 adults). The location was beautiful, within walking distance of the lake and the launch (about 20-30 minutes saunter) and the rooms well appointed (especially ours, room 7 with a bath with a view!). The staff were also brilliantly attentive, without being over-the-top. Nothing was too much trouble for them, especially when personalising standard menu dishes for those with special requirements. The food also deserves a mention - there was a good variety and lovely daily specials, using fresh ingredients and, just like with the service, there was great attention to detail without it being overly pretentious.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gert189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
415 reviews
15.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
989 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
828 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head Country House Hotel

Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £119 - £953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leathes Head Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing