We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is set in a superb location with fantastic views across Derwentwater to Skiddaw. A small hotel which has a wonderful feel. We had a lovely Classic room with great views and an amazing bathroom. Staff were very helpful and contributed to the quality of the stay. Food is very good, both breakfast and dinner. Cannot wait to stay again, what a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pau995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had a wonderful autumn stay at Leathes Head. Very comfortable bedroom with views across Borrowdale to Catbells and Derwentwater. Dinners were particularly good and very creative. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I wish I was still at this lovely country house hotel. My idea of bliss is to sit in their conservatory watching the birds - it is so restful and fascinating. I had a really lovely room - very comfortable bed and pillows and the bathroom is amazing. Great walks leading off from the hotel's doorstop and if you are keen on mountain biking Jamie is your man. Dinner was superb - lovely local ingredients and I did like the fact that when I asked for a small portion, chef delivered what I wanted. If I was to be really picky I would say I would like to have had a bit more honeycomb with my dessert. It was so delicious! a great base for walking and exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longweekendsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having already had several stays - both mid week & weekends - I was once again delighted with all aspects of my stay. Being a 'foodie' at heart I enjoyed all the breakfasts & evening meals. Room was great & very clean. great views in relaxing surroundings.
All the staff were friendly which added to the experience.
Thanks Leathes Head!
Will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We arrived on a fine Bank Holiday weekend, only 2 other couples there. Found this odd as the rest of the area was heaving. Location is stunning - overlooking the lake to Catbells - but no maps available and guests had to ask us directions, as staff were charming but new, with no local knowledge. Breakfast mixed - avoid the scrambled eggs, which settle into a puddle on the plate. Poached eggs and porridge very good. Evening meals likewise unpredictable mixture of good and poor. Despite the friendly staff, I would not stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Leathes Head with 17 friends, and we filled 10 rooms (the last one remained vacant).
All the bedrooms and the public rooms were clean and comfortable, the food, prepared by chef David and his assistant, was uniformly excellent, and the young joint managers, Jamie and Jane could not have been more helpful. We all stayed for four nights, there was not a single complaint, and it was one long party. We will certainly stay there again, and several friends may also return

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable, but sizes and outlook, and therefore prices, vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our 5th visit to the hotel and our experience gets better each time. We had a superior room with double aspect views across to Cat Bells and up to Keswick. The room was large, the bathroom had a fantastic separate rain shower and everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. All toiletry and refreshment items were replenished every day of our 6 night stay.
The evening menu was a choice of about 7 mains with a changing daily special as well as vegetarian options. Dessert choice was varied, sometimes a daily special was available. Service at table was to a very high standard, the waitress remembered individual preferences and was very attentive.
Breakfast was in a class of its own. Choice of 7 main breakfasts, with very generous portions, as well as cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc. Enough to keep you going all day long.
If you are a bird lover the hotel has several bird feeders which attract a wide range of small birds which can be seen from the dining room and some of the bedrooms.
A regular bus service runs up Borrowdale, bus stops are a 5-10 minute walk away and we used the bus to get us to the start of some of our walks - only moved the car 2 days.
The managers do a great job in making everything run smoothly and we were able to relax completely. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KentishKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
454 reviews
15.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
998 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head Country House Hotel

Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £120 - £993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Leathes Head Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing