We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best in Cumbria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leathes Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Leathes Head
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Worth TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The very best in Cumbria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

Recently our party of 5 stayed 5 nights at the Leathes Head Country House Hotel. Before going, I gleaned information from Tripadvisor which was mostly helpful. Our rooms were comfortable and roomy, and although we were unable to get the double aspect rooms, we still had wonderful views from our rooms.
Roy and Janice, the hosts, went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and accommodating. We arrived straight from our overnight flight from the US to Manchester and when I mentioned to Roy that we had had no lunch, he immediately went to the kitchen and rounded up tea, sandwiches and cake. We were most grateful. One day I was ill with a stomach upset and he graciously sent a tray of bread and assorted light things for me to nibble on if I could. That was a life saver.
Breakfast is fresh, cooked to order English. Dinner is outstanding every night with no repeats (not that we would have minded, it was that good!).
The grounds are lovely, with a nice "outdoor sitting room" where guests can gather in the early evening before dinner. Roy would bring us drinks and we would chat about the day's events. Indoors, there are 3 rooms linked together and each set up for comfortable seating and conversation. I have stayed in many country house hotels throughout Europe and this is the friendliest of all. The guests seem to all feel at home and it is reflected in the constant conversation. Staying 5 nights helps with this as it allows time for getting to know people enough for a real conversation.
The only thing that was a bit misleading in other reviews is the ease of transportation - and I think this is a matter background. We did not have our own car but were picked up daily by a driver/ guide for touring the area. If we wanted to go to Keswick (the nearest town), the boat on the Lake or the bus were available. Perhaps if you are used to flagging down a bus, walking a good little bit to a bus stop or to the boat launch, then this would not seem like a big deal. But to us car dependent Texans, we found the distance required to catch public transportation a bit inconvenient. Luckily it didn't matter in this case, but I would recommend having a car if you want to see the area. If you are just coming to walk or rest, then you are in a perfect place, even without a car.
One last recommendation: Read the books by Martin Edwards - The Coffin Trail, The Cipher Garden and the Arsenic Labryinth for an interesting and fun read about the area. And if you want outstanding guides for driving tours or for walking short or long trails, contact Cumbrian Discoveries. They are the best.

  • Liked — friendly hosts, excellent food, fabulous scenery, comfortable public accommodations
  • Disliked — public transportation slightly inconvenient
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 0124...barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    27
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
201
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

This was our forth visit and its just the same.

Wonderful service, lovely rooms, great location. As for the hosts, Roy and Janice they are masters of the art of providing excellent service without being intrusive.

Bar is very well stocked and wine list extensive. Roy says he has tried them all! Certainly he and Janice are in the bar late at night sampling something........!

First class hotel, don't tell anyone, I want to keep it our secret!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Abkettelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

Stayed here with my wife for our anniversary and we were really impressed with this hotel. We both enjoyed our stay and we were surprised by the quality of the food.

The candlelit dinner was really nice and the dessert was just simply amazing! We might visit again just to have a taste the dessert!

There's loads of things to do near by (boat rides, walks, hikes, abseiling, nice windy roads for driving, etc) and probably is a great place to visit all year round.

  • Liked — Location, Food, Scenery, Host
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TLBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the mothership
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

Wow !

I've never left feedback before, but I was so impressed by my 4
night stay in Mid Feb that I had to praise the hotel owners ( Roy & Janice )

The hotel is in a fantastic location just outside Keswick ... Derwent water is nearby & there is a magnificent view of Catbells. Lots of lovely places to go within a 10 mile radius, & then you can come back to this wonderful hotel

The 4 course meals were out of this world, with a different menu every night, & the wine list is extensive & top draw !

What better way of rounding off your evening than to sit around the log fire

If you can, book the Superior rooms, but even the standard rooms are great

I was so impressed I will be back again this year ... If I can get a room !

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

We saw this hotel on Trip Advisor and all comments are very true - an excellent hotel. The vegetarian food is particularly good, and this is unusual.

  • Liked — Log fire and vegetarian food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2007

Just returned from a short break at The Leathes Head Hotel an have nothing but praise to say about our experience. My wife and I were unable to fault anything, from location to outstanding food.
Most of the guest's staying with us were regular visitors and I can see why, we will most certainly be returning, but please...... don't tell anyone else!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

We spent three days at the Leathes Head country house hotel,
The reason we chose this hotel was so we could walk up "Cat bells".
The location of the hotel was excellent, you get fantastic views from every room.
We stayed in a standard room which had a huge bathroom with a bath and shower, just what you need after a long walk.
The food was excellent with a great choice of wines.
Roy ,Janice and their staff made us feel so wellcome.
We would recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to experience the lake district in style and comfort.
Dont take our word for it,see for yourself .........

  • Liked — Location,service,food...
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turkish-English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head

Property: The Leathes Head
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Leathes Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing