We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Easter break and it was absolutely fantastic. The views are amazing and we came away feeling completely relaxed.

Jane and Jamie are great hosts, they make you feel very welcome. We had originally planned to sample a few restaurants in Keswick, but the food and service was so good in the hotel, we ate there every night.

There's also lots of great walks to do around the hotel and the lake is beautiful.

Highly recommended - we're already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMcCormick_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed as a couple: our 3rd visit: clearly we like the place: From every room. there are attractive views: abundant birdlife, and lambs and ewes in the nearby fields. To open the curtains and see the sun lighting up the valley gently in the dawn is a wonderful Springtime sight. Many easy walks direct from the drive, and a level valley floor to explore: buses pass the door, into the countryside and nearby villages, and into town if you wish. Circular walks possible using a mixture of launches and buses. Food, a very high standard, plenty of choice of menu ; quiet dining room, nice conservatory with library of local books, and 2 comfortable lounges to relax in. Well managed, quietly unobtrusive. A real treat for us both, and for other guests. Pity we had to come back home!

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms on the ground floor, and others upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFF W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A lovely hotel. good impressions on first arrival with plenty of parking. Check in was easy with also an offer of an upgrade, which is always a nice touch. The room we had was modern and fresh and the views were great, the bed linen lovely clean and crisp, we had a spa bath which was really relaxing, overall the room was clean maybe a bit more attention to detail could be made in the bathroom, there was a few stray hairs about which I wiped and rinsed away, that's a constructive criticism for the cleaner! as it would have been better not to have found them, I am ultra fussy though. The meal in the evening was really tasty and the service excellent, nothing was rushed which was nice and the wine was very reasonable. We had a great sleep, the bed was comfy and the hotel very quiet. The cooked breakfast choices were numerous and plentiful, also a small buffet with cereal and cold options. We have quite a few overnight stays throughout the year and enjoyed our stay here, the staff were courteous and pleasant and the surrounding good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for one evening with my husband in a superior de luxe room including a 3 course evening meal. The room was large and had an amazing view, lovely big comfy bed and a luxurious bathroom and towels. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The evening meal was one of the best it truly was amazing cooked to perfection very tasty.
The breakfast had a very good selection and again was cooked well and tasted amazing. Our only complaint was that one night was not long enough but to stay for 2 was slightly expensive. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy41black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from an Easter break at the Leathes Head. The team are so friendly and welcoming, the rooms delightful (especially the spa baths) and the scenery and view up Borrowdale towards Derwent Water are spectacular.

Part of our stay was a chocolate making course with chef David, which was very informative and great fun. He taught us many techniques and demystified lots about chocolate making, as we assembled delicious Easter truffles with a variety of spices and flavours. It's a big mark of confidence to allow visitors into the kitchen, and it shows how confident they are in them: very professional and clean. Needless to say, the evening meals are delicious too.

Would definitely go back when passing through the lakes next.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 1Umiquename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My partner and I loved this hotel.It is in a fab position for walking and wonderful food and great rooms. All staff very friendly and helpful.We didnt have much knowledge of the lakes before we visited and this area (Borrowdale) is the best we came across and the views of the countryside are the finest I have seen anywhere.It would be difficult to find a fault.Keswick is a nice market town nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark19619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed at Leathes Head each year for about 8 years and this was our third year with Jane and Jamie as friendly and welcoming hosts. David,their superb chef, provides excellent breakfasts and his dinners are varied and delicious.Guests have a wide choice for an hotel of this size. the wine is very good too! The hotel is clean and very comfortable with wonderful Lake District views. There are many delightful strolls and longer walks from the hotel where peace and quiet abound! All the staff work hard to make your stay a happy one and so far, for us, they have not failed. J&V Aspinall

Room Tip: We choose Room 4 for its double-aspect windows looking both at Derwentwater and Catbells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,018 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head Country House Hotel

Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: £134 - £1,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Leathes Head Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing