We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£120
Breakfast included
£120
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
PaulMawby
Markfield, United Kingdom
3 day break
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2023via mobile
Stayed here for 3 nights.
The room was fantastic and spacious with mountain views. We also had a spa bath which was lovely.
We only had breakfast but there was excellent choice and of high quality.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
There are two 7kw electric chargers which were very handy too.
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£179
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £198
  • Hotels.com
    £198
  • Priceline
    £226
0.5 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£206
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £202
  • Vio.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £162
1.8 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£162
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
0.3 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£30
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
2.2 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel & Spa
Booking.com
£234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    £234
0.8 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£174
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£170
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.6 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
1.7 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.6 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
1.5 miles from The Leathes Head Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Borrowdale
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
359
55
31
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
359
55
31
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel qr code set menu amuse bouche new chef peaceful location log fire sitting room high standard before dinner the ground floor fantastic stay lovely setting three nights beautiful hotel night stay room was spotless
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and dined in he restaurant on all 3 nights, All the food dinner and breakfast was of the highest quality. The bedroom and bathroom were roomy and well appointed. The bar was small but well stocked, especially with whiskeys, I enjoyed the local Lakeland version. The staff were all exceptional, we can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023

My wife and I stayed for one night including dinner. The room was small but comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom was modern and spacious.. The lounge was gracious. The set dinner was lavish - amuse-bouches, 3 courses and petit-fours - and the cooking was excellent. The menu was ox cheek, venison and a ginger cake all with accompaniments. We enjoyed glasses of good Argentinian Malbec. The service was very professional. Breakfast was also well cooked and efficiently served.

Room tip: Although the hotel is close to the main road it is well set back and quiet
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank culkein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023 via mobile

A delightful,relaxing location and excellent service.
Our rooms was tastefully decorated , hair conditioner in the bathroom would be an excellent addition .
Breakfast was delicious and the beautiful birds feeding outside the window were a bonus , along with the red squirrel.
We will be back for another peaceful night and to try out the restaurant.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

The perfect peaceful break in green and lush surroundings. Lovely old Victorian building with cosy contemporary rooms, an intimate bar, spacious comfy lounge and dining area with added entertainment in the shape of a busy bird feeder.
The evening meals are simply top notch, with a five course set menu to make you groan with pleasure! And the breakfasts are similarly wonderful. We felt very spoiled. Full marks, chef!
The staff are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. We had some initial difficulty with the car charging port - there is a rather complicated method of getting the darn thing to work - but we got there in the end.
Highly recommended. Go.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank squeezyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Leathes is getting a good reputation for food and we were delighted to get in as table numbers are small.
The chef is inventive , the food of a high standard . There is a good wine list and a comfortable lounge for a drink though I wonder how everyone crams in if all bedrooms are occupied. I think there are 12 letting bedrooms.
There was a decent sized dining area though the six set of diners were put in a smallish room
Sadly one set of diners were extremely loud which rather spolied the experience in a small area Not the fault of the hotel of course.
The meal was a 5 course plus coffee and petit fours .
Amuse bouche, bread of the day, and starter, mains dessert
Please note there is no choice so find out the menu in advance.
The maitre d was charming , introducing each course BUT herein lies the issue with here.
Each table had to be served BEFORE the details were announced. This meant our ravioli starter was cold and had toughened. The mains also gone cold. Plates were lukewarm
Id like to suggest they announce to each table on service what the meal comprises. No great effort and it would mean meals being hot.
Wine list was perfectly adequate starting at £30. However a g and t will cost you £10.50 ...extortionate really. This is a lovely spot much better than the Borrowdale hotel for food *see previous review. The difference in price well worth it at £60 for dinner. I hope the iron out the service issue. We would certainly go back, maybe to stay.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M3232TEandrewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews