We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Langstrath Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My girlfriend, her 11 year old son and the dog visited this charming Inn last weekend. We received a very warm welcome by friendly staff and enjoyed a superb meal in the bar with our dog. The pie is delicious and the sticky toffee pudding didn't disappoint either! What makes a place truly comfortable is the staff. Everyone we met, from the owners to the waiting on staff are very friendly and efficient. Thank you Guy, Jackie (sorry if I didn't spell your name right), Karen, Monica and the very personable Atilla. Your magic tricks impressed my girlfriends son no end, and he still believes he has magic dust in his pocket! A fantastic evening with truly welcoming people. Thank you

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank twelvegauge666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed one night, we had visited many times before for drinks and lunch. The room was a little small, furniture out dated honey pine, bathroom with shower only which was great. The staff we're great, really good service. If you're lucky enough to sit by the fire after a wet walk there' no better place to be.. We had bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal. On arrival they had booked a table for us, the starters we're great, potted shrimps and egg wrapped in black pudding haggis and breadcrumbs. The main courses were I hate to say disappointing, the lamb lacked taste, needed more gravy with some red currant jelly, red wine, mint and rosemary. It just had no taste at all but was tender. I had the sea bass special, it was served Cajun spiced with roasted Mediterranean veg and new potatoes, with a creamy dill and white wine sauce that just didn't go together. The deserts a mixed bag, creme brûlée was good but the white chocolate and forest fruits cheesecake was awful, it was about 1.5 cm deep didn't hold it's shape, and too tart. After dinner we thought we'd go to the lounge, it was full, with a noisy lot who seemed to be a group, tried the Bar, that was full too no chairs, so we went to out room, could not get wifi, there are no tv' s in the rooms,so we listened to the noise from downstairs, you could Hear what they were saying. felt a little disappointed. Breakfast service and food was good. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter and I wanted a few days away from it all break, the Langstrath Inn offered just that. Quiet location, friendly staff and great food. We stayed in the room at the top with low roof over the bath, quaint and charming. Lovely and warm when we got back from our long walks, and great to have a drying room too! Sadly the weather was wet but we love the Lakes regardless of the weather! Ideally situated for walkers. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a treat, my husband and I had been on the lanstrath vally walk and decided to have coffee and scones, home made biscuits arrived and four beautiful warm scones with jam.
All served on a wooden plate and lovely crockery.
You must go to this lovely country hotel, very friendly staff, already planing to go for a meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank holly196223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This place is in the competition for best hotel in the lake district. Friendly people, comfortable rooms, great food. Nothing I could think of that would improve it. Plus - because I was on a walking holiday - that my room had a bath was a great extra.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bliss60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Last week I eat here on three successive evenings and if I could have stayed in Borrowdale for 14 nights I'd have eaten here 14 times! Why? Last year around this time I discovered this inn and thought the food and service both excellent. This year I'd rate the food, staff, and service as fantastic - the best in England as far as I am concerned. The staff are amazing. Even the chef was personable and happy to chat. I'd recommend booking in advance and parking spaces are a bit tight, but don't deprive yourself of this superb pub and amazing location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliveruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Once again we find ourselves visiting our favourite area in the lakes. This time we managed to fob the kids off (24 and 16) with a promise that we will take them here later in the year!!

With a few changes adrift within the Langstrath, we now find great additions to the staff. You still have the formidable Guy with his fantastic wife Jacqui. Karen is ever present with a warm welcome and outstanding typical Yorkshire sense of humour. Up the Morley! Monika is polite and attentive, and the new chefs have done great job delivering outstanding food. Then we come to the new barman. Well. If you ever wanted to see a happy welcome then trott down the lane. A great find and a trump card, Guy!

"Attila" - you are a credit, great fun guy making us look forward to coming into the bar for some real banter and abuse ( in a good way ). We had a great last night of our stay, I think I've got over it just! Remember the blackboard?!?!

A great addition to an already great team.

We feel like we have known all of them for years, and regard everyone as great friends.

We look forward to returning soon (very).

Looking forward to the "old peculier" Guy!
Remember the discount you agreed with the bar tab, Guy?! And the 3 for 2 on the pickled eggs!
Ps the sign did look straight, apart from on the last night, when it looked extremely crooked! Mind there wasn't much that looked straight that night!

Give it a whirl and enjoy a great relaxing atmosphere with great beers, fantastic food and most of all superb staff.

Cheers everyone,

Mark, Angela, John and Christine.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Metallican111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrowdale hotels
2.6 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
845 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langstrath Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langstrath Country Inn

Address: Stonethwaite, Keswick CA12 5XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Price Range: £98 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Langstrath Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langstrath Country Hotel Keswick
Country Inn Keswick
Keswick Country Inn
The Langstrath Country Inn Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing