We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Langstrath Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
125
68
19
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
68
19
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresidents loungecoast to coastlamb shoulderbeer gardensteak and ale piesuet puddingpub grubdrying roomlight lunchno mobile phone signalcomfortable roomlake districtdining roomlong walkdidn't disappointquiet locationstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a week in a rented cottage about 10 minutes walk from this wonderful inn. The people we were staying with had been before and recommended that we book it for dinner on the first night; it did not disappoint.

The food: amazing. The portion sizes are on the generous side but they do not take away from the quality of the food.
They are cooked to perfection and there is a good selection however not too many choices; I am always wary of places that offer a huge amount of food choices as they rarely deliver. In this case there are daily specials and a good menu.

Drink; they keep the ales well and the wines selected are all good quality.

The staff; this is where they excel when compared to the nearest competition. Attila behind the bar is a fantastic barman. He is lively without being overbearing. He works so hard, not just at serving behind the bar but to ensure that the customers are always welcome.
The other staff all do well and are friendly, always welcoming and do their job so well that you feel part of the family.

It isn't cheap but I don't mind paying for quality; and you get plenty of that here.

A real gem in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07Stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My girlfriend, her 11 year old son and the dog visited this charming Inn last weekend. We received a very warm welcome by friendly staff and enjoyed a superb meal in the bar with our dog. The pie is delicious and the sticky toffee pudding didn't disappoint either! What makes a place truly comfortable is the staff. Everyone we met, from the owners to the waiting on staff are very friendly and efficient. Thank you Guy, Jackie (sorry if I didn't spell your name right), Karen, Monica and the very personable Atilla. Your magic tricks impressed my girlfriends son no end, and he still believes he has magic dust in his pocket! A fantastic evening with truly welcoming people. Thank you

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank twelvegauge666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed one night, we had visited many times before for drinks and lunch. The room was a little small, furniture out dated honey pine, bathroom with shower only which was great. The staff we're great, really good service. If you're lucky enough to sit by the fire after a wet walk there' no better place to be.. We had bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal. On arrival they had booked a table for us, the starters we're great, potted shrimps and egg wrapped in black pudding haggis and breadcrumbs. The main courses were I hate to say disappointing, the lamb lacked taste, needed more gravy with some red currant jelly, red wine, mint and rosemary. It just had no taste at all but was tender. I had the sea bass special, it was served Cajun spiced with roasted Mediterranean veg and new potatoes, with a creamy dill and white wine sauce that just didn't go together. The deserts a mixed bag, creme brûlée was good but the white chocolate and forest fruits cheesecake was awful, it was about 1.5 cm deep didn't hold it's shape, and too tart. After dinner we thought we'd go to the lounge, it was full, with a noisy lot who seemed to be a group, tried the Bar, that was full too no chairs, so we went to out room, could not get wifi, there are no tv' s in the rooms,so we listened to the noise from downstairs, you could Hear what they were saying. felt a little disappointed. Breakfast service and food was good. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter and I wanted a few days away from it all break, the Langstrath Inn offered just that. Quiet location, friendly staff and great food. We stayed in the room at the top with low roof over the bath, quaint and charming. Lovely and warm when we got back from our long walks, and great to have a drying room too! Sadly the weather was wet but we love the Lakes regardless of the weather! Ideally situated for walkers. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a treat, my husband and I had been on the lanstrath vally walk and decided to have coffee and scones, home made biscuits arrived and four beautiful warm scones with jam.
All served on a wooden plate and lovely crockery.
You must go to this lovely country hotel, very friendly staff, already planing to go for a meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank holly196223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews