We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Borrowdale”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Langstrath Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SE22
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little gem in Borrowdale”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Used as a base for 4 nights walking in Borrowdale, had a large room that was very comfortable with great facilities. All food - breakfast, packed lunches and especially dinner were superb, very good portions - good choices - and good value. Service was excellent from the moment we arrived - friendly, informal - but highly efficient. Will definitely return, and wish we had discovered sooner.

Room Tip: We asked for the largest room that was situated on first floor at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    62
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
109
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringmer, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location. Had eaten before, but our first stay was for two nights to wind up a week walking around the lakes mountains. Good food, both breakfast and dinner, and nice room and friendly residents' lounge. But the room was over the bar and therefore noisy. That noise continued from late drinkers/talkers in the 'picnic' area and corridor noise, not what you want after a hard few days. We also had poor servicing of our room and were overcharged at the bar.
Unfortunately, when I emailed the owners (who had been away during our stay) to give both positives and negatives as honest feedback, the reply was, to summarise, 'go elsewhere, no-one else complains'. it was like a reply you might expect from Basil Fawlty. So I guess that is what we will do.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room, so you're not directly over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Dinner bed and breakfast deal was excellent value. Staff very welcoming and evening meal tasty and generous. Waitress run off her feet but always pleasant. Nothing at this inn was too much trouble. I have stayed here before in a very nice room overlooking the valley, this time I was accommodated in one of the roof rooms and although quite tight in headroom it still managed to fit in a sofa. The bath was adequate with an excellent view from the bathroom window up the valley. No noise whatsoever even though this inn is obviously very popular judging by the amount of people dining here both inside and in the beer garden. If I ever stay in Borrowdale again...which is very possible I would not hesitate to stay here. You could stay in Keswick for the same price but you would have to add your food bill to that,..well done The Langstrath

Room Tip: Room 4 I remember being really nice, upper rooms have limited headroom but still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This inn was a welcome sight after our 16-mile walk on the Coast to Coast path. A welcoming place for walkers. The room was small but the bed was wonderful. The shower was perfect. Friendly, friendly, friendly staff. Great way to end a long walk day--a pint in the downstairs pub (or outside on the patio) and great meals in the restaurant. Good single malt selection. Then, the next morning the Coast to Coast path was just minutes away. I want to go back and linger at the Langstrath Country Inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a week in a rented cottage about 10 minutes walk from this wonderful inn. The people we were staying with had been before and recommended that we book it for dinner on the first night; it did not disappoint.

The food: amazing. The portion sizes are on the generous side but they do not take away from the quality of the food.
They are cooked to perfection and there is a good selection however not too many choices; I am always wary of places that offer a huge amount of food choices as they rarely deliver. In this case there are daily specials and a good menu.

Drink; they keep the ales well and the wines selected are all good quality.

The staff; this is where they excel when compared to the nearest competition. Attila behind the bar is a fantastic barman. He is lively without being overbearing. He works so hard, not just at serving behind the bar but to ensure that the customers are always welcome.
The other staff all do well and are friendly, always welcoming and do their job so well that you feel part of the family.

It isn't cheap but I don't mind paying for quality; and you get plenty of that here.

A real gem in the Lakes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07Stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend, her 11 year old son and the dog visited this charming Inn last weekend. We received a very warm welcome by friendly staff and enjoyed a superb meal in the bar with our dog. The pie is delicious and the sticky toffee pudding didn't disappoint either! What makes a place truly comfortable is the staff. Everyone we met, from the owners to the waiting on staff are very friendly and efficient. Thank you Guy, Jackie (sorry if I didn't spell your name right), Karen, Monica and the very personable Atilla. Your magic tricks impressed my girlfriends son no end, and he still believes he has magic dust in his pocket! A fantastic evening with truly welcoming people. Thank you

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank twelvegauge666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed one night, we had visited many times before for drinks and lunch. The room was a little small, furniture out dated honey pine, bathroom with shower only which was great. The staff we're great, really good service. If you're lucky enough to sit by the fire after a wet walk there' no better place to be.. We had bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal. On arrival they had booked a table for us, the starters we're great, potted shrimps and egg wrapped in black pudding haggis and breadcrumbs. The main courses were I hate to say disappointing, the lamb lacked taste, needed more gravy with some red currant jelly, red wine, mint and rosemary. It just had no taste at all but was tender. I had the sea bass special, it was served Cajun spiced with roasted Mediterranean veg and new potatoes, with a creamy dill and white wine sauce that just didn't go together. The deserts a mixed bag, creme brûlée was good but the white chocolate and forest fruits cheesecake was awful, it was about 1.5 cm deep didn't hold it's shape, and too tart. After dinner we thought we'd go to the lounge, it was full, with a noisy lot who seemed to be a group, tried the Bar, that was full too no chairs, so we went to out room, could not get wifi, there are no tv' s in the rooms,so we listened to the noise from downstairs, you could Hear what they were saying. felt a little disappointed. Breakfast service and food was good. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrowdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
797 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
959 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langstrath Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langstrath Country Inn

Property: The Langstrath Country Inn
Address: Stonethwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Langstrath Country Hotel Keswick
Country Inn Keswick
Keswick Country Inn
The Langstrath Country Inn Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing