We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and excellent food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Langstrath Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week. The room was lovely with a huge bed and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and had a wonderful shower and big bath for soaking in after a long day's walking.
The food was excellent. The Lamb and the Steak and Ale Pie are just gorgeous.
We stayed in Room 5 and the views were fabulous.
I would recommend this Inn, if you like good rooms, food and location.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a lovely room. It is a large room, quiet, large bed and a modern bathroom. The views are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I stayed one night on a three week trip to England and Wales. Jacqui was most helpful in booking our room via emails since we are from the States. The Inn was all that we hoped for. We wanted a quiet, laid-back night before we hiked over Stake Pass and the Langstrath provided that. The Langstrath Valley is a stunningly beautiful setting for the Inn. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. We ate two meals in the restaurant and both were delicious and arrived quickly. We heartily recommend a stay at the Langstrath Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Was super tired after a long hard days walk, staff were very kind and helpful! The room was spacious with a lovely big comfy bed and refurbed shower! Top quality food at fairly reasonable prices, there is also a lovely residents lounge which is a lovely place to sit and relax after a tough day!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Cliveyboy224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend - room was lovely with a fab view, room was spotless and had a modern en-suite with a fab drench shower. The bed was soooo comfortable I got the best sleep in a hotel in a long time. The food was great with a great choice for breakfast and evening meal - I would recommend this Inn which is relaxed and laid back and feels like home - fab

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsmakemehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Saw this hotel back in March when walking and liked the look of it so when we found out we could stay here on the coast to coast was really looking forward to it. However it did not live up to expectations. Generally public areas are tired and residents lounge smelt damp and was cold and generally not inviting - probably thats why it was empty. Food was OK but expensive - lamb dry and overcooked. On a positive note the bedroom was clean, bed comfy and there was a well needed bath as well as a shower. No working wi-fi anywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Majicou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed on our Coast to Coast walk, so had endured a long walk from Ennerdale Bridge. The Langstrath was very welcoming, room was lovely with modern bathroom and bath as well as shower. Very comfortable bed. Food was excellent - we ate in the garden during an unusual heat wave, but the restaurant was nice with good views over the hills and the Borrowdale valley. Wifi was available as well as packed lunches.

Room Tip: We were in Room 4 and the beer chiller or kitchen extractor ran all night. The fact it was a very ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It s a bit out of the way but well worth seeking out. We had a dog with us so we ate in the bar.

Nice bar, friendly efficient staff. Good beer and excellent food.

Very good choice for vegetarians.

The food is freshly prepared and cooked on the premises.The main courses were all very good.

Puddings are often disappointing and usually we don't bother. Chocolate puddings are almost always poor. But not here. The chocolate pudding was fabulous, one of the best I've had . (expect my own!) and the STP was of a similar high standard.


This was quite expensive but well worth it and definitely a cut above pub grub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
832 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
999 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langstrath Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langstrath Country Inn

Address: Stonethwaite, Keswick CA12 5XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Price Range: £84 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Langstrath Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langstrath Country Hotel Keswick
Country Inn Keswick
Keswick Country Inn
The Langstrath Country Inn Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing