We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficient”
Review of Grove Court Hotel

Grove Court Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The building is an old converted primary school. The staff work hard and the food is reasonably priced, plentiful and varied. There are special lower prices for meals for senior citizens. Overall, this is a pleasant place to stay and there is a bar where food is served in the evenings. Some of the guests seems to be business people passing through, though there are also holiday visitors as well. There is ample parking and free wi-fi in public areas.

If you want to explore the western side of the Lake District, this hotel, despite the fact that it is in the north, is perfectly acceptable. It gives access to Cockermouth, St Bees and, at a distance, Kendall.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the road across the lawn have a better view than those in the rear, but those in the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EdwinOddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Grove Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff were very polite and even prepared breakfast a little early on the weekend since we were leaving early in the morning for an outing. The facilities though are a little dated, the wall paper is peeling in certain places and interiors look pretty old. The hot water in the shower was available only in the morning and it was luke warm water in the evenings.
The rooms are large and clean and the breakfast spread was nice. Pretty quiet through the week but the restaurant was packed on the weekend. Everything else is a bit of a drive from here in case you need stuff from the supermarket or even to try different cuisines.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting friends. Hotel is very run down and smelt dirty on arrival (stale cooking smells) but we were greeted by a lovely lady who went out of her way to make us welcome. Room very dated and pillows horrendously uncomfy. Bed large and room spacious tho. Bathroom had mouldy grout and a screen that kept swinging out. Plus huge spiders!!! Didn't sleep much thanks to these unwanted residents! Not enough towels for the 4 of us. We ate in restaurant both nights and food was nice - simple pub grub. However breakfast not as good in my opinion, no bowls or milk for cereal and floor hadn't been cleaned/hoovered from night before as there where still chips under our table! I had cooked breakfast and was disappointed with this. However, I can't fault the way we were treated by all staff members - lovely people. All in all way too expensive for what it was and considering how busy it gets the owners should spend some money on a refurb.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank JChang78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and clean. All the staff are so friendly. Had a mixed grill to die for. Early breakfast a bonus when I have an early start (7.00am). Good size Tv in room . Definitely put this one on my return to list.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had eaten here once before and were really impressed with the food quality etc.
We returned for a family party which was excellent.The staff are lovely and very friendly. The hotel is old the rooms large and felt damp on arrival. Our bath plug didnt work but the lady gave us the key to another room so we could have a bath.The toilets were all a little slow to flush...But the breakfast again was excellent. Bit of a mixed bag re accomodation but they were all so nice you had to forgive the little idiosyncracies. Food definately the best part.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Met up with friends for a lovely meal. Food was excellent & service was very quick. The menu has a really good variety, the Meat Platter is a favourite dish of mine. Booking is recommended. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Melchie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

All of the staff (bar the waitress in the evening) were very friendly and a real asset to this place - it's a shame the hotel itsel lets them down. The rooms were very cold and smelt of damp, the breakfast was fine but the evening meal was... interesting. It reminded me of school dinnersm and definitely not in a good way. Would not stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank CatCatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleator
0.1 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
441 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
166 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
9.3 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Court Hotel

Address: Cleator Gate, Cleator CA23 2DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cleator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Price Range: £63 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grove Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Court Hotel Cleator, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing