We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping Pod - Bank Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eamont Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowther Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Opted for a camping pod for 2 adults and 2 children, which was advertised to sleep 2 adults and 3 children, however, not sure where the 3rd would sleep as it was cosy enough with the 4 of us!!

The park itself is lovely, however, the seasonal tourers do take over slightly and spoil the traditional camping feel but I think it was designed originally for lodges, statics and then they've added the seasonals and tourers/tents to increase revenue.

The park is about 1.5 miles from the main entrance where two pubs are located. Beehive and Crown (not that nice) but the site does have a pub itself called Squirrel. The food here is typical pub grub, which was average and the lager was poor but ok for a last stop off of an evening if you'd been out.

Shop was well stocked, toilets clean and tidy with great choices if cubicles, baths, showers and family cubicles.

A great weekend had by all but well probably book somewhere else a little closer to amenities.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank alisquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

The grounds here are amazing. The facilities are good, but I found everything crammed in. Camping in a tent was expensive and I found the site noisy due to other residents.
Staying with a dog, the area was perfect for walking and very peaceful in terms of traffic.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mirajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This site is in a pleasant location with facilities that include toilet and showers blocks, a shop, games room and pub that serves food. There are also a couple of small play areas and combined basketball and football court.

My wife and I stayed in a pod that had heat and electric, however there are also tent pitches, caravans and chalets. I would recommend booking a pod, however you must bring your own bedding.

The site backs on to woods that lead down to a river. The site is particularly good for young families and they welcome dogs, however they must be kept on the lead around the accommodation.

Room Tip: Book a pod, but bring bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely site, with really clean toilets and shower block, there is plenty to do onsite if you enjoy walking or bike riding, it also has a nice pub on site, the staff are really friendly and helpful, I definitely recommend a visit

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nichola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had originally booked to stay for 2 nights but enjoyed it that much we booked an extra night.

Peaceful site yet plenty for the little one to enjoy.

The walk past the river is nice on an evening. The pub is also good with nice food.

Will definitely book up to go again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank S1MVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We love this site and have been coming here for a few years now, always in September and in May/June. We have just returned from a 4 night stay, arriving on Friday lunchtime to a jam packed site as families finished off their half term holidays. We were in our own tourer, and our initial small pitch allocation was swiftly changed to a larger one. Friday night was busy, loud, fun-filled. The pub was very busy but food was served quickly. Saturday was quieter and the last two days were deserted, but lovely for us, having a two week half term allowed us to pretty much have the site to ourselves! The shop is very good value and has everything you could need. The toilet blocks have been refurbished and are really good; the showers are hot. Those who complain about cleaning times etc, they need to be cleaned at some point, so go earlier, go later or use the other block! The surrounding area is just beautiful, but take your ear plugs - the cacophony of bird song is lovely, but not at 4.30am! We spotted the hares and saw a red squirrel for the first time. Our 7 year old is spoilt for choice over which play area to go to and made friends with other children.
We love this site, especially seeing it in the different seasons. Penrith is a gem, with some fabulous buildings and shops. My personal favourite is Brougham Hall across the road - try the cafe and have the ham, Brie and onion marmalade toastie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just stayed in this lovely park for a week. Just the two of us so we can't comment on any family facilities but they do have an amazing outdoor playground and BMX bike track through woodland. The Park is in a stunning location and has beautiful walks from the door. You can walk to Lowther Castle and Gardens from the Park or walk along the river around the park. Red Squirrels, Heron, Hares , Ducks - wildlife everywhere. many owners have bird feeders up so you can watch a variety of birds and of course the Red Squirrels. The people who work here are very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome. The on-site shop - for a change - is very reasonable - we have been to Haven Parks and the Spar shops there are very expensive, this one was not. Also very well stocked and open every day. The park is close to Penrith so is handy for shopping.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom caravan and it was very spacious, well equipped and very modern and clean. Tea, coffee and biscuits provided as a welcome, washing up liquid, tea towels and cloths all provided. The oven was a bit rubbish compared to our home one as it took forever to boil a pan of water and the grill was tiny! A small niggle as the caravans all seem to have the same oven in. Could have done with blackout blinds in the bedrooms as it came light at 4.30am!

I would recommend this park to anyone, especially if you love wildlife and the countryside. It is in a good location for the North Eastern Fells and mountains of the Lake District, Buttermere is about 1 hours drive.

Didn't use the pub or dining facilities so can't comment on these but good choice of food and entertainment on every weekend.

This park deserves 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 64Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lowther Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowther Holiday Park

Address: Earl Henry's Drive | Penrith, Eamont Bridge, Penrith CA10 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Eamont Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Eamont Bridge
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowther Holiday Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowther Holiday Park is set in 50 acres of wooded parkland on the banks of the River Lowther and is home to the rare and fascinating Red Squirrel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowther Holiday Park Eamont Bridge, Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing