We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub/hotel/ resteraunt”
Review of Fox & Hounds Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennerdale Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox & Hounds Inn
2 reviews
“Great pub/hotel/ resteraunt”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A very hospitable welcome greeted us after our first leg of the coast to coast walk. A large comfortable room with bath , good ales and food, larger than life manager who doubled as an expert local guide . All perfect really

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrerstriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
66
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It is a great story - a boarded-up pub gets rescued and is run by it's community. It's pretty too, with a pleasant garden. Although we heard two tables complaining, we found the food to be good as well. However, there was a queue for food and drink most of the evening.
The manager was quite loud and stressed. The room was grubby, with a cracked sink and cobwebs.
Our room suffered from noise from the bar where, judging by the lateness when we stayed, they enjoy the occasional lock-in.However, others told us that they didn't hear the bar from their room.
It's OK.

Room Tip: Don't have room 2 - it's over the bar. Don't reserve a table for two. They give you one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
276 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A good first night stop on the coast to coast, but for me not as perfect as some of the other reviews suggest.
The rooms are comfortable and clean... and a good nights sleep was aided with the sound of the babbling brook outside (Room 1 and 2 look out over the beck- but room 3, which is over the bar can be noisy if there is late bar activity)
Breakfast is substantial- with the biggest fry up of all 13 stays on the coast to coast, a good cereal selection, and lighter options to the fry up.
Evening meal was good- I had a lamb steak from the specials board which was tasty and came served on a bubble and squeak mash,and a good selection of vegetables but it was not the tenderest lamb I've ever had.
The service is sometimes chaotic when busy- and you can wait a while for your meal. We also found ourselves locked out of the dining area for a few minutes at breakfast time before anyone realised that we were there.
On balance though, and particularly for it's substantial breakfast, I rate this as Very Good

Room Tip: Beware Room 3 can be noisy as it's above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Called in here again for lunch after some fell walking.

As before the food was excellent and the beer, including beers from the Ennerdale Brewery just up the road, was great.

This is a community run pub which is going from strength to strength - they are now CAMRA pub of the season.

WELL worth a visit ( or to stay - they have accomodation!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waiorongomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We can't fault this brilliant friendly place, run by the entire community. We camped in the field next door for £5 and all of the service was excellent - including using a fantastic shower in the resident landlord's flat. Food was delicious and they were very much set up for walkers - no complaints about muddy boots and wet jackets. They even gave us hot water the next morning to make our own breakfast with. A fabulous start to our coast to coast walk - no pubs matched it on the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 81Ali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishop's stortford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We arrived tired and hot at this tiny pub to find 130 guests spilling over outside at a packed funeral wake for a local farmer. Felt slightly nervous about entering as we were early for our overnight stay (we were doing the coast to coast walk and stood out like a sore thumb among the black ties and suits of the customers). But we were instantly approached and welcomed in the warmest way possible by Martin and Peter; we were shown to a spare table and a bottomless pot of tea was brought at once, followed by plates of sandwiches, cakes, biscuits and flapjacks - all at no extra charge. When we were ready, we were shown to our spacious and well-kept rooms, with a table reserved for dinner later. My son was told he had the presidential suite, on account of Bill and Hilary Clinton staying there when they were at Oxford - and this was where he proposed to her. The funeral wake was still going strong (and continued all evening) when we came down to eat but, in spite of the pub's busyness, our food came quickly and we had no problems ordering drinks at the bar. The next morning breakfast was again excellent, a good packed lunch was provided, and we were welcomed off the premises (if that is possible). If all pubs were like this, none would be shutting. The community of Ennerdale Bridge is very lucky to have it, and anyone who stays there will be lucky too! Many, many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ms9560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We didnt stay overnight. We heard about the pub being taken over by the local community to keep it open. So we decided to call in on our way for a walk around Ennerdale water. The pub is quaint and in a beautiful little hamlet. We were met by Martin the manager as we opened the door. He was overjoyed to see us , made a fuss of our dog and introduced us to the people already in. I cant praise his welcome highly enough. The real ales were superb and the food excellent. We shall return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennerdale Bridge
3.3 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
778 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rowrah Hall B&B
Rowrah Hall B&B
#1 of 1 in Rowrah
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parkside Hotel
Parkside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cleator
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Inn

Property: Fox & Hounds Inn
Address: Ennerdale Bridge, Ennerdale Bridge CA23 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ennerdale Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small traditional Lakeland Inn managed by the local community, offering three spacious rooms all of which are dog friendly. We offer a good range of local ales and hearty pub food served by friendly local staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Inn Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing