We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C”
Review of Fox & Hounds Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennerdale Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox & Hounds Inn
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“C2C”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Arrived not quite knowing what to expect, but found a great little pub in one of the most unspoilt parts of the lake district. It really seems to be the community hub for the village, so is worth supporting for that reason alone. The room was clean and spacious and the food was superb. Would recommend to anyone doing the C2C

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
66
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Fantastic evening in a lovely place, run by the most friendly family I have ever met. Live music from a family member was a real unexpected bonus, as was beer brewed on the premises.
They made our holiday! Will definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brownlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms albeit the bathroom was a bit spartan (nothing wrong with it though). A good night's sleep after a great meal in the pub downstairs and similarly the breakfast the following morning. Owned by the community as a whole, this is a great place to stay - and an enterprise to support with your custom.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokeysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Visited for an evening meal and was taken by the quality of the food, really very good. I suppose I should say that I wasn’t expecting such quality from a small pub in a small village but why I don’t know! The chef certainly knows his / her stuff. The staff were all really nice and I would recommend a visit anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here as a party of 7. Food was good all round (as was choice of beers) and a lovely evening spent. Bar staff and waiting staff were friendly and polite.Kids of course loved the free WiFi! No complaints from us! Thank you.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greenybooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Have eaten twice at the fox and hounds,and on both ocations the chips were clearly under cooked and raw in the middle,on a positive note,the rest of the meal was at a very good standard,and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Qhsjshsjxhsbsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Evening meal and drinks were good value for money. Room 3 was spacious tastefully furnished with a modern bathroom. Room 3 overlooks the entrance so you pick up a bit of noise and smoke at times. Just open the bathroom window. By 11 the bar noise had subsided but wasn't particularly loud to start with so sleep wasn't an issue. Drying room is quite good and they thoughtfully had a pile of paper available; useful given the drenching we'd received. A great place to stop.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennerdale Bridge
3.3 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
777 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
78 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rowrah Hall B&B
Rowrah Hall B&B
#1 of 1 in Rowrah
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parkside Hotel
Parkside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cleator
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Inn

Property: Fox & Hounds Inn
Address: Ennerdale Bridge, Ennerdale Bridge CA23 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ennerdale Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small traditional Lakeland Inn managed by the local community, offering three spacious rooms all of which are dog friendly. We offer a good range of local ales and hearty pub food served by friendly local staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Inn Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing