We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pub with rooms”
Review of Fox & Hounds Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennerdale Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox & Hounds Inn
London, england
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A good pub with rooms”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a community run pub and as such is great - friendly people running the place and an exceptionally good range of well kept locally sourced beers. Our room was very clean and pleasant but as it was directly over the bar there was some inevitable noise seepage. Where we felt let down was the quality of the food which we didn't find at all pleasant; I ordered fish and chipe which should have been a good staple. What I got was overcooked chips and some greyish fish surrounded by soggy batter. My wife's "scampi" , sadly, was little better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
66
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently stayed in the area exploring the area, looked up the local pubs online for a place have our evening meal!
The website states that the pub serves food until 2130, on our arrival on a Saturday evening at 2050 we were told that they were not serving food as they had turned everything off in the kitchen!
Not a place I will ever visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

A friendly basic Lakeland pub with decent enough food but not comparable with other character pubs in the area eg the Kirkstile Inn. If you're looking for a simple pub grub meal with a decent pint then the fox and hounds is a good choice. If you're looking for something a bit more upmarket then try elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank SherpaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Returned to the fox & hounds shortly after Christmas with family and friends, and I was not disappointed! Still going strong!

Still excellent food, excellent service, polite, helpful !!

Il be back AGAIN !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were pleased to be able to support a local co-operative owned and run pub with accommodation. We were not disappointed. Good food, friendly, polite, helpful staff and good local brew beers and a comfortable room.

Thank you all at the Fox and Hounds for looking after us after our first day of our Coast to Coast walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-and-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Learning that this pub - previously a little gem, had reopened, I booked if for lunch for my birthday. Despite knowing that we were coming the fire was barely lit, and after the only other customers had left we huddled round it to try to feel some heat. The beer was not cheap, and, for the size of portions, the food certainly was quite pricey. It was also undercooked and served not hot and on cool plates. Such a shame. I would ask people to support this pub as it is a community run venture, but they do need to serve their food hotter, and get the fire lit earlier. At least it is still dog friendly which will suit all the walkers.

Room Tip: We did not see the bedrooms so cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We came in a day early on the Coast to Coast. There weren't any dog-friendly rooms available that night, but for a fiver we were able to camp in the pub garden and enjoy the pub food and friendly atmosphere. The next day we checked in early and the room nearly blew my mind. Not like most of the other pubs we had stayed in en route (Lion Inn at Blakey Ridge excepted). This was classy. Massive room and bed with writing desk and a wardrobe and an ensuite bathroom WITH A BATH. Okay, that is probably what made if for me after 180 miles of walking and mostly showers, but still, it was brilliant.

The staff were lovely and yes, the kitchen is a little over-stretched at the moment, but if you give them a chance, they will make you feel welcome and look after you right.

Room Tip: Book early if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahallatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennerdale Bridge
3.3 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
777 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
78 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rowrah Hall B&B
Rowrah Hall B&B
#1 of 1 in Rowrah
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parkside Hotel
Parkside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cleator
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Inn

Property: Fox & Hounds Inn
Address: Ennerdale Bridge, Ennerdale Bridge CA23 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ennerdale Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small traditional Lakeland Inn managed by the local community, offering three spacious rooms all of which are dog friendly. We offer a good range of local ales and hearty pub food served by friendly local staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Inn Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing