We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment”
Review of Fox & Hounds Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennerdale Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox & Hounds Inn
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A big disappointment. This community inn has an idyllic setting and no shortage of clientele but is marred by poor customer service and maintenance. It took over 30 minutes to be shown to our room and the customary information about the room, facilities was missing. When asked for the wifi code the response was it was a big long set of numbers; if too difficult to remember surely it could have been printed out and given to guests. The room was large and adequately equipped, but although superficially clean there were scraps of paper from previous tenants, and layers of dust on the furniture and under the beds. The TV did not work. The food was OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crwydrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue G, Manager at Fox & Hounds Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Sorry you were disappointed with your welcome at our Inn. We did however explain that all of our guests had retired for the night ( they were all on their first night of the coast to coast walk ). We therefore felt it inappropriate to allow your group to begin singing at 9.45pm. We would like to stress that we did not single you out. We only take singers who we know and have pre-booked, this ensures that we are able to warn our guests in advance if they are likely to be disturbed.
Regards Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    40
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
66
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here whilst doing the C2C recently. The staff were very pleasant and the food was very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. A very well run Community pub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 208Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here during my C2C. Excellent room, very comfortable bed, plentiful hot water, good quality of food and lots of choice for breakfast. Staff were great with great care and attention paid. A very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpl5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a drive out last week end for my partners birthday, he had made a delivery there and said the meals looked good. Good did not justify. The service, cleanliness and food was excellent with real ales from the local brewery. Staff were friendly,helpful and very polite from the moment we arrived and the starter we selected (flatfeild mushroom with black pud topped with cheese sauce) was to die for followed by a delish main which was also lovely and we struggled with due to quantity. This country inn is situated in a delightful village and we will definatly be back. Very highly recommended! Thankyou to all. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loweswater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Another excellent meal in this very welcoming and friendly pub. Service was second to none, swift and efficient and served with a smile.The added bonus of being dog-friendly makes this a top pub for us stop off for a meal after a day out on the fells before we return home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the pub after walking around Ennerdale water. We were hungry and looking forward to having some food. I ordered Sea Bass. My gf ordered Cumberland Sausage...how disappointing it turned out to be. My Sea Bass was over cooked and the portion was tiny; served with mash, carrots and strips of green (kale ?), it was a very dry meal. The unrecognised green veg was curly, crispy and brown at the edges and dried-out because the plate was so hot and obviously placed on it too early. G/f's plate was huge...piled high with tons of chips. The sausage was tasteless and very cheap quality...not herby and spicy like a cumberland should be; more like a cheap school-dinner type sausage with no taste or texture. Bland transport cafe type food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

After my first day of walking on the coast to coast trail this B&B is just what I needed. Friendly service for check-in and the meal. The food is what you would expect at a pub and because it was my first day walking I was easy to please. But the bath ah the bath was marvelous! Not what one would expect (and rare thru half of the c2c walk)! It gave me new life!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TedC910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennerdale Bridge
3.3 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ghyll Farm B & B
Ghyll Farm B & B
#2 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Inn

Property: Fox & Hounds Inn
Address: Ennerdale Bridge, Ennerdale Bridge CA23 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ennerdale Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small traditional Lakeland Inn managed by the local community, offering three spacious rooms all of which are dog friendly. We offer a good range of local ales and hearty pub food served by friendly local staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Inn Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing