We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with excellent service”
Review of Fox & Hounds Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennerdale Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox & Hounds Inn
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited this local pub after walking the fells. Have to say it had a good range of real ale, and the food was good pub grub. Have to say the bar staff were lovely and attentive, didn't catch the young blonde girls name but was served by a polite gentleman named Ross. Would highly recommend a visit, and we will be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank honey-badger21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Attracted to the Fox and Hounds as it is a community run pub. It was everything that we hoped for. Lovely beer garden in which to relax and unwind. Really comfortable and spacious room with modern en suite bathroom. Food very tasty, proper food, and great value for money - not surprising that a good few locals were eating there even though it was mid week . A good range of cask beers from the local brewery. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94Fred_the_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a community-run inn, a very commendable effort to keep the place open! The pub/restaurant is cosy and serves good food. The room itself is pretty, but the bathroom is rather dated and seems "unfinished". The mattress was also a bit tired so not the best recovery from a long day's walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bj0rnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Only slight hitch was no signal for TV, but after a long day out walking and a hearty meal and very pleasant social scene in the bar it was no big deal. My wife myself and Max ( our dog ) stayed on our C2C trip and had a most enjoyable stay The staff ,food and clientele could not be faulted. The whole atmosphere was great even our dog was given first class attention. On the night we stayed we meet some really nice folk most of which were fellow C2C's which made for a nice start to our journey . Great place to stay if doing the coast to coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pato011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A big disappointment. This community inn has an idyllic setting and no shortage of clientele but is marred by poor customer service and maintenance. It took over 30 minutes to be shown to our room and the customary information about the room, facilities was missing. When asked for the wifi code the response was it was a big long set of numbers; if too difficult to remember surely it could have been printed out and given to guests. The room was large and adequately equipped, but although superficially clean there were scraps of paper from previous tenants, and layers of dust on the furniture and under the beds. The TV did not work. The food was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crwydrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue G, Manager at Fox & Hounds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Sorry you were disappointed with your welcome at our Inn. We did however explain that all of our guests had retired for the night ( they were all on their first night of the coast to coast walk ). We therefore felt it inappropriate to allow your group to begin singing at 9.45pm. We would like to stress that we did not single you out. We only take singers who we know and have pre-booked, this ensures that we are able to warn our guests in advance if they are likely to be disturbed.
Regards Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here whilst doing the C2C recently. The staff were very pleasant and the food was very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. A very well run Community pub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here during my C2C. Excellent room, very comfortable bed, plentiful hot water, good quality of food and lots of choice for breakfast. Staff were great with great care and attention paid. A very good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpl5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennerdale Bridge
3.3 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ghyll Farm B & B
Ghyll Farm B & B
#1 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Inn

Address: Ennerdale Bridge, Ennerdale Bridge CA23 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ennerdale Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small traditional Lakeland Inn managed by the local community, offering three spacious rooms all of which are dog friendly. We offer a good range of local ales and hearty pub food served by friendly local staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Inn Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing