We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly,warm ,welcoming home from home B& B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ennerdale View B&B

Ennerdale View B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennerdale Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ennerdale View B&B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly,warm ,welcoming home from home B& B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Nice to have visited Paul & Jo for a second time, because even with a broken foot the first year in the establishment,food and all other comforts were second to none,so this trip was booked without hesitation .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed for one night while walking the Coast to Coast. There aren't many choices in this part of the trail but we were very pleased with the warm welcome we got at Ennerdale View - the owners picked us up from the trail as arranged, and provided a very high quality evening meal. My girlfriend has a gluten free diet and the owners provided excellent alternatives for the items she couldn't eat (and provided soya milk for breakfast the following morning). Breakfast was great - the cooked breakfast was all baked or grilled, rather than fried, and the view from the dining room across Ennerdale was spectacular. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pccambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed at Ennerdale View not long after the previous comment on Tripadvisor and we're amazed at these comments. I know other people staying at the same time as us would agree that they are way off mark. We phoned from the pub in Ennerdale bridge and Paul picked us up and was very polite and cheerful, pointing out some of the landmarks as we drove up the hill. When we arrived at the Guest house we were greeted warmly by Jo and showed the great views from the dining room. Paul showed us to our room, which was lovely with the same views over the lake. We had plenty of time to settle in before dinner and were grateful to be seated with two other couples who were also doing the walk so we could exchange our views on he day and the prospects for the rest of the walk. The food was really good and excellent value at £15 for a three course meal. We had a good nights sleep and an excellent breakfast and then Paul drove us back down to Ennerdale Bridge to continue with out walk. We would definitely recommend Ennerdale View as a stop on the Coast to Coast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennerdale Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

In reply to the message left by liz below. we are amazed at her comments as nothing was said during their stay or as they were taken back down to the trail in the morning. we even tended to one of their party with bad ankle after we'd retired for the night with a bag of ice.On the sherpa site it does state £15 for 3 course evening meal and one or two of her party did pass compliments whilst dining. As for the packed lunch we use walkers crisps and hovis bread don't put biscuits in We pride ourselves on sending our guests away happy and up to now we have managed to. so in reply we will leave comments from guests who stayed with us the same week.
1. WHAT A LOVELY STAY THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING David & Marion Buckinghamshire
2. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT STAY WE MAY RETURN Sue & Tim Dorset
3. VERY NICE PLACE, NICE WARM WELCOME, GREAT FOOD Richard, Chris Adrian P & O Ferries
4. FABULOUS VIEWS, & GREAT FOOD MANY THANKS. Chris Ian & Mac Southampton
5. WONDERFUL STAY WITH AMAZING DINNER Joan Linda & Janet Hants
6. THANK YOU FOR A LOVELY STAY DINNER WAS LOVELY AND UNEXPECTED ROOM LOVELY & WHAT A VIEW EXCELLENT MEALS Bill & Debbie Kent
7. FANTASTIC 1ST STOP ON THE C2C HOPE ALL THE REST WILL BE AS GOOD Mike & Val Cambridge

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoandPaul2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

This is a really horrible place run by a poor man's version of Basil Fawlty (no humour, just rude and an idea of customer service that belongs in the Ark.) I was with a group of friends walking the coast to coast. We'd done 14 miles that day in heat so were hot, dirty and tired, desperate for a good bath, good food and bed. He picked us up from Ennerdale Bridge, which was good of him but didn’t give us time to finish our drinks and moaned about the locals on the drive up - hardly welcoming. We had to carry our heavy bags upstairs ourselves and the four of us had to share two showers yet he told us we had exactly 25 minutes to shower and change for dinner – no negotiation. The food was really ropey and overpriced, we'd been quoted £9.75 per head by Sherpa yet were charged £15. He gave us no choice about where we sat, putting us with the only two other people in the room (fortunately very nice.) He said he served breakfast at 7.30; we had to argue to move it to 8am also demanded the order the night before which is almost impossible for tired people to think about. He put hot food on the table at 8am sharp despite the fact that some in the party were not even down from their rooms yet. Packed lunch was a disgrace, £5 for two slices of cheap bread with dry tuna in the middle – no spreads or salad, a carton of drink that had 25p on the front, cheap crisps, a brown rotten pear and a cheap biscuit! Altogether a very unpleasant experience. We heard from other walkers he had a reputation for only being in it for the money. Would never go there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastocoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennerdale Bridge
4.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ghyll Farm B & B
Ghyll Farm B & B
#2 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rowrah Hall B&B
Rowrah Hall B&B
#1 of 1 in Rowrah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.8 mi away
Parkside Hotel
Parkside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cleator
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ennerdale View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennerdale View B&B

Property: Ennerdale View B&B
Address: Looking Steads | Kirkland, Ennerdale Bridge CA26 3XY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ennerdale Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ennerdale View B&B Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing