We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient service, ideal for C2C walkers”
Review of Stork Hotel

Stork Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Frizington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Efficient service, ideal for C2C walkers”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This place is clearly used to Coast to coast walkers and is very well set up to look after them including the pick-up service from Ennerdale (phone while still on high ground or from the phone box by the school as there's no reception in Ennerdale Bridge) and drop off at 8.30 the next morning. Our room was small but adequate with a standard double bed, the bathroom well-designed and the shower powerful. Food was good homemade pub food, massive quantities, served in the bar or separate dining area. Good atmosphere with locals dining too and a roaring open fire. Just right for what we needed. Our score of 3/5 is based on the range of experiences we had over 17 days on the C2C walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Received a very friendly and warm welcome as well as a good evening dinner and breakfast. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well decorated. Many thanks go to the landlord for picking us up and running us back to Patterdale.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A great authentic Inn with a really warm welcome and great traditional home cooked food

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnerng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frizington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We live locally and decided to give the Stork a try for our Sunday lunch - it was superb - highly recommended - talking to residents, Paul and Joan were great hosts also

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our first night stay, on the coast to coast.We were made very welcome indeed.There was one other chap staying there and couple of others were locals,what can I say they all interacted with us which I think is fab.We had a murkey days walk from St Bees to Ennerdale Bridge so Paul put his slide show on of Dent fell. We never saw any of the views because it was so foggy so when we saw the pictures of his charity walk it looked amazing.We sat at the bar chatting away could of stayed there all night but decieded by i think 11 we had to make a move.The room was fab so don.t no what the other reviewer is on about, OH AND THE SHOWER WOW WOW WOW LOL.
The meals were amazing my other half got the steak pie his conviced there was nearly a full cow in it.
Thank you for your warm welcome, chris and will

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here on our first night of the Coast to Coast. A pick up service from Ennerdale Bridge is provided, and arrived within 10 minutes of phoning. Rooms clean and comfortable and hosts very welcoming. Food was hot and tasty- just what we needed after a day walking. Good breakfast, and packed lunches available too. Owner dropped us back at Ennerdale Bridge the next morning. Would recommend this as a place to stop on the Coast to Coast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy16411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our first night on the actual Coast to Coast Walk and got us off to a very good start. We used the phone box in Ennerdale Bridge to call the hotel as there is no mobile signal and minutes later we were picked up and taken to the hotel. Lovely couple running the place and really understand walkers – paper to stuff in the wet boots, radiators on to dry stuff, etc Comfortable room and good food – my wife loved the pie straight from the oven. After an excellent breakfast, as soon as we were ready we were driven back down to Ennerdale Bridge to reconnect with the walk. Thoroughly recommend.
General note: We only did the 1st half of the Coast to Coast from St Bees to Kirkby Stephen. Our trip was organised very well by Mac’s Adventures. In addition to the accommodation reviewed here, we also stayed at the Jolly Farmers, Kirkby Stephen, Yew Cragg Guesthouse, Rosthwaite, Silverlea Guest House, Grasmere, Home Farm, Patterdale, Crown & Mitre, Bampton and Barnhouse, Orton.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frizington
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
2.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rowrah Hall B&B
Rowrah Hall B&B
#1 of 1 in Rowrah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stork Hotel

Property: Stork Hotel
Address: Rowrah Road | Rowrah, Frizington CA26 3XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Frizington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful view of the surrounding fells, we are situated on the edge of the village at the doorstep of the Rowrah international carting stadium and the Coast to Coast cycle way. Two miles from Ennerdale village first stop for coast to coast walkers to whom we provide a free pickup and drop-off service to anyone staying with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stork Hotel Frizington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing