We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Alternative to Ennerdale Bridge”
Review of Stork Hotel

Stork Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed here as an alternative to Ennerdale Bridge (which was fully booked). The owner cheerfully picks you up from Ennerdale Bridge and drops you off the next morning. The rooms are great, beds comfortable, and the meals are generous and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muzando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed here on our coast-to-coast walk where we were picked up by the friendly landlord (and taken back the next day) from our arranged pickup point. The room was a bit small but comfortable with great views of the fells. A good, hearty evening meal in the pub restaurant with an equally good breakfast in the morning."

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This was our (group of 6) last night of a 6 day, 350 mile bike ride across the country and back. We'd stayed in a variety of B & Bs over the few days and were a little dubious about this small hotel in a very secluded part of the countryside, just a few miles out of White Haven. But we were all very pleasantly surprised. We had just finished our longest day (70+miles over the Pennines and into the Lakes) and were met with a friendly face, immediate and safe storage of the bikes, and a pint! Rooms were cosy, clean and modern. Showers were one of the highlights - endless hot water and powerful enough to target those aches and pains without blowing your head off...perfect! Evening meals were very much enjoyed by all, as was the breakfast, all served in good time and with excellent service. The weather turned miserable but this was a fantastic way to finish our last night away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKMobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Arrived in Ennerdale Bridge completely soaked on our first day of walking the Coast to Coast path. Quick pick up from Joan and the beginning of a great experience at the Stork. Both Joan and her husband were super friendly, attentive and kind. Quickly sorted us out drying all our wet gear, into our rooms for a very refreshing shower and down into the pub for a quick pint and some great banter. Our meals were excellent and Joan had even baked a cake for one of our party for his birthday.

Our rooms were very well laid out, clean and comfortable. Coffee and tea making service with biscuits. Every bathroom amenity you could need (hand soap, shampoo, shower gel).

Excellent breakfast, very affordable packed lunch and then a quick trip back to Ennerdale Bridge to start Day 2.

Wholeheartedly recommend the Stork. They offered all the services we needed and we never left the building. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Stopped here on our Coast to Coast walk because they offer a pick up service from Ennerdale Bridge. Friendly welcome and cosy bar with flagged floor. Warmed ourselves by the fire before ordering food. Homemade steak pie was excellent and followed by the most delicious sticky toffee pud. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stork Hotel

Address: Rowrah Road | Rowrah, Frizington CA26 3XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Frizington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stork Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful view of the surrounding fells, we are situated on the edge of the village at the doorstep of the Rowrah international carting stadium and the Coast to Coast cycle way. Two miles from Ennerdale village first stop for coast to coast walkers to whom we provide a free pickup and drop-off service to anyone staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Stork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stork Hotel Frizington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing