We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a caravan site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More like a caravan site”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited Thanet Well in April. We have visited many hoseasons lodges before and always been very impressed.
We booked a VIP lodge with a hot tub, it was more like a caravan.

Bad points
Dated kitchen area
Some dirty pots
Should have catered for 6 people but some items only had 4 (eg- place mats)
Very uncomfortable beds and thin pillows and duvets
Basic bathroom
Not private as next 'lodge' is so close. Each one overlooking the next persons hot tub.
Hot tub was behind the 'lodge' in a tiny area??? Overlooking a farm with rusty tractors spreading manure
Glass next to the hot tun which my husband stood on and cut his foot
Unhelpful staff
No nice views or nice walks
Young intimidating males walking around the park??
MILES from civilisation
Wifi is a scam
There is probably more.......

Good points
Good oven and microwave

Definitely try somewhere else if your expecting luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    85
    27
    11
    11
See reviews for
167
189
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

More like a posh caravan than a lodge very modern furnishings but nothing in draws and cupboards like a showhome no basic essentials like salt and pepper or washing up liquid, settees are very comfortable but well worn there's not even a vacuum cleaner or dustpan and brush.
bedrooms are well equipped with en-suites one with a bath and one with a shower.
Living room very comfy has a 5.1 cinema surround but no discs to play on it, on a whole very comfortable but minimum essentials please note only enough parking for one car per lodge.staff in reception very helpful and the area is beautiful

Room Tip: Pay extra for the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely relaxed place called 'Thanetwell' we have had a lovely time. The site was peaceful and the bonus of weather was perfect.
The lodge was fully equipt like home from home - very spacious!
Hot tub was wonderful.
We stayed in lodge 14 wonderful views.
Staff on site very pleasant.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions over the last 6 years and had fantastic lodges.
However, on our last stay i was shocked and disappointed at the standard of the lodge given to us. We had paid for their Superior VIP lodge and we were given what looked like a Butlins special it was more like a chalet then a luxury lodge! We had paid £450 which doesn't sound much but it was out of season and late November! The oven & dishwasher tripped the electrics constantly and the work top in the kitchen had a massive chunk taken out of it. we complained at Reception and requested to be moved as this wasn't the standard we usually received to which we were told the park was full! This was a lie as the lodge next to us was empty all week, the reception staff and Manager were really patronising and said loud enough for us to hear "oh they're after one of the decent lodges" Sorry but that's what i paid for in the first place you stupid little man! As we got nowhere at the park I complained to Hoseasons when i got back to which although they took 4 weeks to sort it out they did refund most of the money paid and when i cancelled our trip for April 2014 they also paid the deposit back to me. I have to say that i will not being go back but it's a shame as we have had some good times there but if this is how they are going to treat retirning customers i'd rather go elsewhere. As it happens we have rented a cottage down the road for £100 less than the lodge and it's more secluded and better equipped.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eviebeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My 2nd visit to Thanet Well Lodges and I wasn't disappointed again. We stayed in lodge number 33, and it got an immediate WOW factor from me as soon as I walked in. The lodge is clean, very well decorated and is very well equipped. The hot tob was amazing and ready to use as soon as we arrived. Check in was easy and ALL the staff I had the pleasure to meet during our stay were friendly and helpful. Looking forward to my 3rd visit already!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wise1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival we where given Lodge number 84 vip with a hot tub. The interior of the lodge was outdated, and light shades missing of living room lights, on the bathroom cabinet there was blue tack instead of a catch to hold the door shut. The electric went off and the hot tub did not work as the controls were broken on it. Not much storage in main bedroom, no drawers for clothing I would of. We were given a choice to move to another Lodge number 82 vip which was much better, hot tub worked fine and we were always in it several times a day over 7 days. The two twin rooms have plenty of storage space and drawers and big wardrobe for clothing the lodge was great despite issues with first Lodge the 2nd Lodge was great and would recommend number 82 vip Lodge will be def coming back. Very nice for a quiet holiday as it is very remote, boot and shoe in Greystoke amazing for food. Lovely scenery and walks, there is a forest nearby and it's lovely.
The staff at thanet well are very polite and welcoming. The shop on the site doesn't stock that much but Morrisons is about 15min drive at penrith.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian0971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We booked a Desire Lodge for a special occasion, definately not the luxury we were expecting. Door handle hanging off, venition blinds to side windows and patio doors had slats missing and some broken so no privacy, stained sofas, gaps in tops of patio doors so wind howling through, fire broken, 3 tier rusty shelf in bathroom broken and proped up against wall, no mirrors in any rooms only in bathroom, so unable to do you hair and bedroom. Went and discussed with manager who did send someone to fix door hand and shelf and offered to refund us when we got back home. We asked if we could move to another lodge as it wasn't about the money we just wanted the luxury experience that we had paid for and we were told that all lodges we occupied, a blatant lie as there were several that we saw were empty!!
So when we came home we did as manager had suggested and contacted Hoseasons for a refund, surprise surprise, Thanet Well did not reply to any emails from Hoseasons and 3 weeks later Hoseason refunded our money themselves as a gesture of good will, Thank you Hoseasons. We will not be returning to Thanetwell and will not recommend them to anyone else!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeden69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
22.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
8.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,437 reviews
7.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanet Well Lodge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanet Well Lodge Retreat

Property: Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Address: Greystoke CA11 0XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Greystoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanetwell Lodge is a beautiful self catering Scandinavian style wooden lodge situated in the heart of the Northern Lakes surrounded by unspoiled countryside and fantastic views. it is the ideal base for countryside pursuits or just somewhere to “get away from it all”... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thanet Well Lodge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanetwell Hotel Greystoke
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat Greystoke, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing