We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Greystoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: We have slightly Quirky Opening Times for the Tea Garden between mid May and end of September - it's important you read these below so you don't arrive to find us closed. We serve Aga made cakes, cream teas, home made cordials and jams, hot mugs tea, lovely milkshakes, hot chocolate, real coffee, lovely soups, pastas and puds. We're not posh - just a simple family Tea Garden with lovely views across to Greystoke Castle, 2 friendly cats and some hens. Please don't expect a frilly warm tea room - we have shelter in the form of unheated gazebos and the Cyclists barn (which may contain dust!) - so please remember to bring a coat if it's chilly. Everyone is welcome (even non cyclists, well trained children* and dogs) on Fridays 12-6pm and Saturdays 10-6pm and at least the 2nd Sunday of the month 10-6pm but often every Sunday midsummer. Please remember we have no parking - we ask people to walk from the village c/park 350 yds or parking on roadside recess opposite Howard Park 150yds. In accordance with our local Planning Consent . . . Cyclists arriving on bikes are welcome everyday in season between 10AM and 6PM . We have free juice for your water bottles (to drink off site), bike oil, track pumps and a few spares - plus hot water bottles and blankets which seem to work well! Food wise (the very least we can give you is tea and cakes and if we can (hopefully nearly always) we will rustle up some lovely home cooked food for you from the menu. We make our living from running over 150 courses a year in Art , Beekeeping, Heritage and Country Craft , Cookery, bike maintenance and Textile courses Just occasionally over lunchtimes we may have to ask you to wait for 10 minutes if the courses students have just entered the kitchen for lunch . Equally for those arriving after lunch on a workshop day there are often extra puddings on the menu - lemon meringue roulades or frangipanis. Workshop lunches are usually served between 1 and 2pm . Thank you for your understanding.
Stafford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is brilliant just park up your bike and then relax and be looked after in a wonderful setting. The owner is a lovely lady.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarsdenStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleCafe1, Owner at Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Your kind comments are really appreciated - thank you. We try to make make our guests feel welcome- its always nice to know when we succeed. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best Service, Cake and Coffee of the whole Coast to Coast Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very Friendly Landlady... Asks you inside and bakes cakes and chats whilst you eat and drink endless mugs of coffee. We arrived late in the day after the rush and we were the only ones in there (6pm last BH Saturday Night). A Haven for Cyclist's, Walkers or even just for a stop whilst you are in the Lakes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleCafe1, Owner at Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
You looked tired guys and in need of sustenance and our kitchen was warm when outside was cold! Am usually around and clearing up well after 6pm on Friday nights so no problem at all managing to find you something to keep you going- Im glad you stopped by! !

Thanks for your msg- really glad you stopped by and hope you enjoyed your trip !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
“workshop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Recently attended a Quirky workshop. An experienced and helpful tutor Dave for a woodcarving workshop, which I chose from an interesting and varied list of sessions. A warm presence from Annie and some great food at lunchtime (choice of vegetarian soups, bread and yummy deserts) made it a good experience. Would recommend, despite public transport being a bit of a pain.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleCafe1, Owner at Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your Wild life Whittling day here as well as the venue + food too - Dave H is certainly an excellent WHittler and tutor by all accounts.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback and we'll hopefully to see you another time in Greystoke in the future. best wishes Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Craft heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently did a print, design and make a lampshade course which was taught by a very patient Jorja!.
The homemade lunch & refreshments were delicious but best of all was the friendly "laidback" atmosphere.
Can't wait to go back and have already booked another course!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiesearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleCafe1, Owner at Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
It is so good to hear that you've booked another day here because you enjoyed the last one so much - thank you for your kind words and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky 'Refreshes the parts others cafes and workshops can't reach.'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Actually came here to do one of their 'Quirky Workshops' can't imagine a better place to spend a day in terms of food, atmosphere, surroundings, friendly service, and the range of workshops, from weaving, stained glass, to blacksmithing and dry stone walling. A great tonic! has become a regular feature in my year now! highly recommend whether you are with a friend or having a day to yourself.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CedarWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleCafe1, Owner at Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear C-W - thankyou so much for your generous comments, we're so pleased you've enjoyed your various days here making many many different things and hopefully will see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Troutbeck, Eden District
 

Been to Greystoke Cycle Cafe Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing