We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub Good Beer, let down by a poor dish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boot & Shoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boot & Shoe
Ranked #2 of 5 Greystoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good pub Good Beer, let down by a poor dish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Pub was recommended to us and I could see why. The beer was excellent and there was a great pub atmosphere. My friend had Fish ( haddock) and chips which were good. The Hot Chilli Thai stir fry failed the basic description test it was not hot and not even mild - I think the chef forgot to put in any chilli at all. Foolishly I ate it but did tell the waitress to tell the chef that it was not what was on the menu. No apology or explanation followed. Disappointing. We would probably go back for all reasons given by the other reviewers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    46
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
70
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Boot and Shoe is a traditional country Inn. This warm and comfortable Inn is well run and the staff were very friendly and helpful during our 4 night stay.
The food is very good and breakfast sets you up for the day.
Dogs are very welcome and the bar was busy with locals and visitors. They serve Doombar and Black Sheep ales.
Our room was very good, quiet and comfortable.
We would stay again and would recommend the Boot and Shoe as a traditional flavour of Lakeland hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very nice traditional pub in a beautiful Cumbrian village. The lunch menu is functional rather than extensive but gives a fair choice. Prices are on the high side for a pub meal but not over the top. One thing I would say is that we were VERY disappointed in what they describe as home made "chips". They are not chips in the proper sense as chips should be deep fried from RAW chipped potatoes whereas these were boiled potatoes which had been cut into quite thick chunks & then deep fried. NOT CHIPS ! The food was fine other than this & the service was fast although not particularly friendly. Not rude in any way but not very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Whilst in the Lakes with family for a hiking trip we decided on our last night to eat at the Boot & Shoe. A table was booked in the morning for 8pm and on arriving at 8pm we were promptly seated. The menu was broad enough that everyone found something they fancied and the order taken promptly (however we weren't rushed). I order pork belly encrusted with chilli and black pepper, which arrived within around 20 minutes. The quality of the food was very high, with all members of the party agreeing. I would also add the food was very well priced with most specials being around £12.

After the meal we stayed for the quiz which was very popular with the number of teams in double figures. The quiz master was a little peculiar and evidently highly religious which did impact somewhat on the experience (thus 4 stars), and led to several comments being made within the group. Out of what I remember to be 5 rounds of 10 questions there was a whole round on the bible and another on Easter which again focused on its biblical representation.

We did not stay overnight so I can't comment oin the acomadation.

Last of all the bar was well stocked, with three ale drinkers, two cider drinkers and a wine fan everyone was just as happy with their drinks as the food.

Overall I'd give:
5* for the food and drink.
3* for the quiz due to the quizmaster.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hywel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit to us .As regards the Quiz ,as it was Easter week the quiz master thought it was apt to include religious Questions ,please come and visit us again .Here endith the lesson Amen.:-p
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent a weekend at nearby Blencowe Hall to celebrate a milestone birthday (40...uuurrgh) and had the Friday evening in the pub, now trying to cater for 24 adults with kids in tow, can't have been easy, but The Boot and Shoe did it with aplomb, great food, fantastic atmosphere, accommodating staff and good old English beer!

A great evening!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolted-On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for responding on TripAdvisor and your kind critique I hope you had a lovely stay at Blencowe Hall and look forward to seeing you again in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Mike is a very genial host and the food is great we had a group of 15 of us and it was no problem. The lamb and fish were excellent. I am still full! The service was excellent and there was plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at Stafford House B&B, and the Pub was recommended by Hazel the owner, You can always tell if a pub is good, Monday night and busy. The Landlord and Landlady and their staff were first class, and the service excellent. The Food was very good. I read the comment left by Jeff, being a Chef my self, I know how easy it is to cook a steak, that is perhaps not as the customer had ordered, but you simply ask the staff, to have the opportunity to put it right.Putting it on tripadvisor does nothing. You can barely shoe horn customers in most nights. Jeff looked a bit over-cooked himself, in the posted photo. Keep the glasses on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amberfourpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
4.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Greystoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Herdwick Inn
Herdwick Inn
#11 of 62 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stafford House
Stafford House
#1 of 5 in Greystoke
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boot & Shoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boot & Shoe

Property: The Boot & Shoe
Address: Greystoke CA11 0TP , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greystoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boot & Shoe 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greystoke is the orginal birth place of Trazan Lord of the Apes. The Boot and Shoe Inn, Greystoke acquired its name because of the strange sartorial habit of a former Duke of Norfolk wearing a shoe on one foot and a boot on the other to ease the pain of goutOpen all day Free Wi-Fi Warm and friendly come and say hello to Jan and BenDelicious home cooked food using locally sourced ingredientsGreat selection of cask ales and fine winesLog fires and friendly locals...The Boot and Shoe is at the heart of Greystoke Village which is centrally situated between Keswick-Lake Ullswater-Carlisle-(Scottish Borders) and Penrith, 5 miles from M6 motorway and 6 miles from Lake Ullswater. Greystoke is a quiet, historic village but still has may amenities.On the Coast to Coast Cycle routeGreystoke Castle ancestral home of 'Trazan'Large medieval village church.Racing stablesHeated outdoor swimming poolWell stocked village shopChildrens play area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Boot & Shoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boot & Shoe Greystoke, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing