We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Value for Money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Certificate of Excellence
Very good
12 reviews
Seating outside kitchen door
Garden
Seating area
Bedroom1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Bathroom
Church Lane
Village shop
Village Cross
Icold Road
Rose Cottage at Christmas
Christmas at Rose Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Greystoke, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VikkiMumO...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

As a two parent family we struggle to get away and at a decent price.
This cottage fitted the budget as we could cook breakfast and tea and make packed lunches for day trips.
The cottage is home from home, the owner really has thought about everything to make your stay complete and easy.
And the cleanliness is superb! We didn't find a spec of dust or hair. Fresh bedding and linen was a bonus too- towels were so fluffy they could pass for fleeces!
We visited the local pub, a little pricey but nice treat and fantastic food.
Really would love to go back again as its a great central location for the lake district.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how thoughtful the owner was- the kitchen really was FULLY fitted!!
Liked least: nothing to comment
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelikag...
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ausstattung
Liked least: sehr weiche Sofas und Sessel
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
We have translated the above comment to English. Thank you for your feedback which is alway important to us.
Good facilities, nice garden, nice neighbors, beautiful surroundings. Especially interesting was the ride over the passes from Ambleside to Eskdale. Boat trip on the Ullswater also good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmburgase
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La ubicación
Liked least: El tamaño de las camas, la ropa de capa y el espacio para guardar ropa.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Translation is below. As regards to the bedroom being to warm, we did advise not to put the output above 1 as it can get too warm. We believe the main heating issue was because on your visit our heating system is different to abroad as storage heaters are used in the village as we do have gas in the village. As you arrived so late in the evening the storage head had cooled down and normally you would have lit the wood burner to provide heating for late into the night. As regard the problem regarding a electrical storm which took out the electricity in the village for about an hour was unfortunately out of our control and could not help. We did reply regarding the bedding suggesting opening the window and lowering the heating in the bedroom as we did not have lighter weight duvet at hand to change. We are sorry your stay was not as you expected but tried to answer your daily queries as quickly as possible to make your stay a pleasant one

We have spent a week in this house in the second half of July. It is located in a quiet small town with some charm called Greystoke. It has a nice church and a nice place to take a good beer or eat occasionally pub. Greystoke is very well located if you want to know the Lake District, which is about a half hour drive. In addition you also have relatively Hand (1-2 hour drive) other interesting excursions such as Hadrian's Wall, York or Ediburgo in Scotland. In addition, Greystoke is very near Penrith, five minutes drive away, a city where you will find all the facilities you need and excellent tourist information point. With respect to the house, it is correct in general terms. The kitchen is well equipped and has a small garden where you could eat if the weather. In the house you have wifi, and works very well. The house is quite comfortable although space is a bit cramped, especially for clothes and other things. On the top floor are two bedrooms and a bathroom. One bedroom has a bunk bed and the other a double bed. Mido 1.78 cm tall and I were just two beds a bit long, however, can not do much more because the space in the rooms is already very tight. It would not hurt to install an opaque curtain in the bedroom windows to sleep in the dark. The curtains let in light from dawn and can be annoying, we like to sleep in the dark. The bedding is a little thick and you can spend heat to sleep. The heating system was not easy to use. No chimney if necessary on the ground floor. The owner of the house, Lesley, do not attend in person. Communication is done via mail or phone. It was very friendly at all times and he replied quickly to almost all my doubts except near the end. I asked about the possibility of a less thick bed clothes because we were having some heat and did not answer me. I imagine there was no alternative. In short, the house is comfortable and the location is great. With some little things upgradable valuation would be very good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing