We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Holiday Cottage”

Review of Mains Cottage

Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12 Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
Mains Cottage: Converted Barn in Greystoke on the edge of the Lake District: Sleeps 10/12
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Greystoke, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen P
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Mains Cottage is a wonderful base for visiting the Lake District. We have been booking the cottage for a number of years & absolutely love the place which is why we keep coming back. The owners, Dinah & Kit really take the time & effect to ensure each stay is enjoyable & we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else for our holidays in Cumbria.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an outstanding cottage with plenty of space”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start, this cottage is beautiful inside and out, so much space and very clean and well presented. It had a beautiful big garden for the children to run around freely and also the dogs loved the space which was an added bonus. The views were amazing and a perfect location to get around to various areas of the Lake District. Our family had the most perfect stay here and we will defiantly be returning back. Owner (Dinah) was lovely and welcoming and made sure we were all settled and had everything we need.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Thank you so much I loved meeting you all such fun . Thank you also for leaving it immaculate! Hope we will see you again . Dinah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne1ha...
bradford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful. ”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Mains cottage with family for a long weekend in October and it was absolutely perfect. The cottage is beautiful and spacious inside, we had a party of 10 and there was more than enough space for us all, either to spend time together or some time apart. The kitchen had everything that we could have possibly needed and a large space for us all to eat together. The garden is huge and completely fenced in, even for our beagle which usually manages to escape from anywhere. The village is a 2min drive down the road which has a little shop and pub and was about a 20 min drive to Ullswater Lake. Would have been useful to maybe have a little welcome pack with useful details in and attractions that are nearby. Would definitely return to the cottage again, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you so much I have taken on board and will get a much better welcome pack .also thank you for leaving it so tidy and clean .look forward to seeing you again.many thanks Dinah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TriggerF
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is the third time we have stayed at Mains cottage. The cottage is immaculate and has everything you could need for a brilliant family holiday. The back garden is ideal for children and dogs. At the front, there is ample space to park cars. The owner is pleasant and very approachable. The location of the cottage is amazing, Greystoke is a beautiful place with an outdoor pool, a small post office and a lovely pub. Would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely immaculate cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were a group of 10 and were all very impressed with the space, decor and cleanliness of the cottage. We had a 2 year old in the group so having the cot and high chair available was a big plus. The kitchen had all the cooking utensils we needed and a well-stocked fruit bowl! Dinah was lovely and was happy to help with any queries before we arrived. She even came out to meet us at the pub in the village where we stopped for lunch before checking in. Greystoke is a lovely village with friendly, welcoming locals and the outdoor pool and playpark were a hit with the kids. We didn't manage to go to any of the lakes (hopefully we'll be able to come back again) but we went to Lake District Wildlife Park which about 35 mins away which was an enjoyable day out. Would definitely come back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you so much ,I am so glad you had a good time ,and also for leaving it as you found it .We would love to see you again do give me a ring .Many thanks Dinah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerml
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a great family holiday house - very spacious and welcoming. We ranged in age from 13months to almost 80! A warm, friendly environment to cater for all needs. The sitting room is wonderful - such a large, open space. We had excellent weather but there were places to put our boots, coats etc. even if they had got drenched. We were amazed to find liquid soap, hand towels, plenty of toilet paper etc. in all the bathrooms - such a pleasant surprise. Mains Cottage is one of those holiday lets that has much more than one expects. The large garden even had a willow "den" in it!

The owners are kind, considerate and practical. What more can one ask for!

Greystoke is a pretty village with a small post office/shop which met all our needs. Due to circumstances we did not visit the pub - hopefully on our next visit we will. Near the welcoming church there is a large play area which is good for all ages, having a toddler play area, an older playground and a football pitch. It was great to be able to take the children there after a day out walking. In the summer months there is an outdoor heated swimming pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious, clean house
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisandchr...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This was an ideal property for our needs”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We rented this cottage for a family birthday weekend and we were not disappointed. The lounge and kitchen are huge so 9 of us could fit in easily without them being crowded.
The bedrooms are such that no-one is above another, a great thing with small children jumping about above. The cottage was clean and every amenity provided.The local pub had excellent food and a good atmosphere and there was a small village shop.It was a bit of a drive to Ullswater but worth the visit.We went on a boat on the lake and walked around part of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing