We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location and Extremely Doggy Friendly!”

Beckfoot Country Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beckfoot Country Guest House
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Location and Extremely Doggy Friendly!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My partner and I decided to book a last minute, three night break for the bank holiday weekend, along with our four legged friend, Freddie. The location of Beckfoot is perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Ullswater Lake and surrounding area. Breakfast at the Guest House was lovely and the Queens Head pub in Askham served some of the best food we have tasted. The rooms were really clean and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. We would return for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicci86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wickford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We first came accross this hotel last year with a one night stay, and are happy to say their high standards had not changed one iota. Spotless, homely and friendly with a good touch of opulence. Our party of two couples stayed for four nights and had two rooms, one of which was their excellent four-poster room complete with full tapestry drapes and matching lamps and furniture. Our other room was large, spacious, and a very large bed. Our Yorkshire Terrier (Little Mo) was also made very welcome. Excellent breakfasts completed our stay. Dinner was taken at some very good pubs all within a mile or two of the Beckfoot.

Room Tip: Just ask and choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MulderWickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I want to go back! In 5 minutes I was at home in a large annex room, my bed and food bowls were there along with a couple chews. My owners and I could be out and up on the fells in a few minutes. My owners were very happy with the room but both did not sleep too well as the bed was extremely hard for them, but recognised that this is down to personal preferences. In all we all got home chilled out after a very good 6 nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adminu2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We booked after looking on the internet for an establishment which was away from the "busier" parts of the Lake District and were not disappointed. The large room we occupied was clean with a view of the front garden, fields and hills. The spacious lounge with log fire was most welcome on our first night after it had been raining. The Queens Head in Askham, 2.5 miles away, was superb and served fresh food. We thoroughly enjoyed our three day break. Your own transport is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tffchairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We spent 4 nights there, with a 1-year old baby. The room we had was large, with beautiful vistas. The owners were friendly and accommodating to all our requests. The location is away from the crowds of the Lake District, yet a great base for day hikes. The nearby Queen's Head pub was a great place to finish the day with some good pub food and a pint.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelslotsandlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed here again for 1 night on our way to Scotland. This place is really good if you want peace and quiet. We arrived mid afternoon and were warmly greeted. Were shown to our room which was spacious and clean. Went for a good walk at Haweswater then a meal near by. Had a really peaceful and comfortable night, and apart from hearing an owl we never heard another sound. The scenery from the room was magnificent.
Breakfast was superb and our only regret was that we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This had been booked through Packhorse and as it’s a couple of miles off the Coast 2 Coast route, they said they would collect us if we called from Burnbanks. No evening meal was available so we ate at the excellent Mardale Inn in Bampton.

This Victorian house is in a very rural setting. We were upgraded to a four poster bed room as there had been a problem with our original room. It had an enormous and beautiful wardrobe which quite possibly led out to Narnia! The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. We had an early night so didn’t really explore the house or gournds. The ensuite was clean and everything worked. The only fault, if it is one, was people could see straight in the side window as they walked past. (we were on the 1st floor) Breakfast was served in the high ceilinged dining room. As with much of the Lake District, mobile phone reception was poor but this made a nice change.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlsnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beckfoot Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckfoot Country Guest House

Property: Beckfoot Country Guest House
Address: Helton, Penrith CA10 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Helton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Helton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Beckfoot Country Guest House Helton, UK - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing