We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Combe House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chequers Hotel(Dalton-in-Furness)
US$137
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Lisdoonie Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Furness Railway Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at Black Combe House for 3 nights. The room was spotless, bright, modern and very comfortable. The hosts were very welcoming and could not do enough for you.
They were also fantastic with my daughter who has learning difficulties. This made us feel a lot more relaxed, as trying to explain to people that your child is not being naughty she just can't help what she does can put you on edge when in a different place.
Breakfast was really great with very generous portions.
We will be back next year without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Black Combe House has the most friendliest, professional and mannerly hosts who have ever welcomed me to a hotel / B&B and the accomodation was excellent value for money. Clean and cosy rooms. A great breakfast that starts you off for the day. Excellent value for money. Very happy to recommend and I am sure you will enjoy your stay, in this most beautiful part of England. Pamela Fiona Young

Room Tip: I am sure they are all as good as each other,
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faircomment22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Arrived and was immediately offereda cup of tea and a piece of cake. Ed the owner then offered me a bacon sandwich. Nothing was too much trouble whilst there catering for every need. Ed and his wife Dot encourage people to watch TV in the front lounge which has access to Sky. The breakfasts are the biggest and the best i have ever had which Ed prides himself on.
Up the road is a nice friendly pub which is owned by an ex Australian Cricketer who is also a friendly person.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone,they even hace there very own dvd library so you can view films in your room

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stopped while on business after it being recommended by my firms site surveyors who had stopped there. Very friendly owner, and superb cooked breakfast. No evening meals but pub 200 yards away does a mean steak.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This was my second year at Black Combe House. I choose it because it is in a quiet and beautiful location but reasonably close to Silecroft station so I can use the train to get to the Cumbrian coast towns for work. But there is another reason for choosing it. Not very often do you get offered a share of the owners' meal when you arrive, and little gifts left in your room as the days go by.

As someone else has noted, the breakfasts are designed to defeat with their generosity, and the quality of the ingredients is high.

Rooms are not the largest, but they are clean, individual and well finished. Views are good on both sides, unless you are upset by a wind farm and Haverigg prison in the distance on the seaward side (the sea is a mile or so away). And it was good fun watching the lambs in the field. I would go there soon since the area is under threat of a nuclear power station. Free WiFi is available, important if you need internet because 3G wireless signals are unreliable around here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews