We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chequers Hotel(Dalton-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Furness Railway Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imperial(Barrow-in-Furness)
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

stayed for 1 night at the black combe house just for a bit of peace and quiet we were made to feel so welcome from the minute we arrived dot and ed are the friendliest people ever and eds breakfasts are huge i did my best to eat it and he even offered me more quality we went to the little pub at night and had the best steak ever a bit sad really when we leftcoz ed and dot are truley amazing people

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent two nights here over bank holiday weekend.
Warm and welcoming - tea and scones on arrival.
Clean and comfortable. Spotless shower room. Comfy lounge. Bedroom bright and warm with very comfy bed.
Good breakfast.
Helpful, knowledgeable owners. Dot even put proper wine glasses is our room unasked when she spotted our disposable ones.
We got the impression nothing was any trouble and were greeted with smiles all weekend.
Would not hesitate to highly recommend Black Combe House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Spent a very pleasant weekend at this establishment. The owners made us very welcome offering tea or coffee on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast was amazing. Fantastic value for money with beautiful scenery thrown in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very very comfortable accom, beautiful location, the nicest people, a fabulous full English breakfast and brilliant value for money. Look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just returned from a 1 night stay here but guarantee next time it will be longer. On arrival our hosts Ed & Dot couldn't of been more welcoming making us a full pot of coffee with lemon cake & biscuits while our 11yr old son was spoilt with ice-cream and juice...splendid start ! They asked what are plans were for our evening meal and after we said we'd try the local pub they arranged to book a table for us as it gets busy in the evening which they duly did !
We were then given directions to the beach & informed about which route to walk which was a great help as we've never been to this area before. The bedroom was spotless (No 4) which had fantastic views overlooking the village green and beyond. The breakfast certainly sets you up for the day & is all locally sourced but definatley not for the faint hearted but well worth it if you manage to finish it. It is in a quiet setting but we found this great & the mile long walk to the stony beach is extremley safe if you have young children as you may only see the odd farm traffic but we didn't see anything when we walked there. There may well be more excellent B&Bs in the area but for us theres only one place we'll be returning to & the sooner the better !!

Room Tip: Any bedrooms to the front of the house will have fantastic views...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingkenny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews