We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2015

A nice B&B - not especially exciting from the outside, but an excellent welcome. The decor is a little dated, but everything worked and it was clean. The breakfast was excellent - good choice, well cooked and great portions!
The King William pub just up the road served an excellent (truly excellent) steak, but you need to book - it was full midweek on my last visit.
One thing - the Black Combe does not take plastic for payment - cash or cheque only. Whilst we know the banks rip small businesses off, in this day and age the owners of Black Combe might like to rethink their decision to stop having a chip and pin machine...

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank yamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Black Combe House for one night. Dot made us very welcome and the room we had had the most fantastic views of the hills. The room its self was lovely, clean and comfortable. Dot warned us about Eds rather large breakfast, so we asked for a moderate size one, which I still couldn't finish !!. The location is great, quite but not to far from the local town of Millom.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were made very welcome by Dot and offered a pot of tea after our journey. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable too. Two friends also stayed and were similarly impressed. Ed's breakfast was super with everything you would want with plenty of coffee and toast to follow. The lounge was at our disposal and as we hadn't seen out friends for a while it was nice to sit in there for a chat before going out to dinner to an excellent pub just in the next village. Around the walls are some wonderful pictures, all painted by Dot herself - very interesting. We only stayed at Black Coombe House as we were travelling north to Scotland but we wouldn't hesitate to stay again and for longer

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the house have a lovely view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have stayed at the black Combe a few times now and it is always a pleasure. Dot and Ed are great hosts and can't do enough for you, rooms are always clean and the breakfast is great. I will always stay there when I'm up that way.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevinmouland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was a lovely B&B, Ed & Dot made us feel very welcome. It was really peaceful. The room was very comfortable, we had everything we needed. View was lovely from our bedroom.

Ed's breakfasts - well -!! I've never seen such a huge breakfast - & very tasty - perfect to set us up for the day - didn't need to eat again until evening!! Such a homely B&B. The wee pub up the road was a 2 minute walk too which was nice. Also close by was the beach; which we enjoyed a lovely walk the next morning!

Room Tip: We were at the top, lovely view onto the Black Coombe mountains - beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsP106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews