We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We couldn't have been happier with this cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Whillan Beck behind 17th Century Packhorse Bridge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whillan Beck behind 17th Century Packhorse Bridge
Romantic bedroom Cosy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Whillan Beck behind 17th Century Packhorse Bridge
Romantic bedroom
Cosy kitchen
Ensuite bathroom
View of Boot Mill from bedroom
Open plan living and dining area
Wake up to the sound of the stream and view of England's oldest mill!
Whillan Beck in full force
Summer view from bedroom
Winter view from bedroom
Boot Mill behind 17th Century packhorse bridge
Boot Village beneath Scafell
Eskdale Trail Cycle Path
Wastwater, a pleasant walk away, England's deepest lake
Boot village beneath the mountains
Eskdale and Ravenglass Narrow Gauge Steam Railway
Herdwick sheep hiking the fells in the Upper Esk!
Enclosed walled garden at Bridge End
Air out your walking boots on our pink granite dry stone walls after a day on the fells!
Lingcove Bridge in the Upper Esk Valley
St Bee's beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BrisbaneC...
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Not a good holiday in a very small dark cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I very rarely write a negative review of a property but I feel I need to voice my opinion of this cottage. It's really down to ones personal opinion and experience and this is ours. Upon arrival there was no one to meet so it took a while to figure out where to park and which cottage. You need the instructions that are emailed from the owner so make sure you have them with you. The cottage is VERY small and quite dark inside. Much smaller then we expected. Only one room downstairs with a small kitchen, small table and small couch. Only small window downstairs and as the cottage is very close to the front road there is not much privacy when the door is open which needs to be open for air and light. There is a small couch which the cushions slide off after sitting on it for a short time. The kitchen is adequate but very small. Only room for one person in there at a time. Narrow stairs lead to the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Again, very small rooms. We had to leave our cases in our car as no room to store
them. Some may find it difficult to use the bathroom as its narrow opening. The roof above the head of the bed slants down and we both banged our heads a couple of times on it. The
bed was very hard. We emailed the owner who lives in NZ and he organised with the cleaner to fix the TV which wasn't working and she put a mattress overlay on the bed to soften it and
the bed was great after that. The small door in the bedroom opens to a stairway to the road so no security or privacy when open. Our second day there we had no hot water or heating working so began the drama of our stay. The maintenance man Bob who was brilliant, very
caring concerned and helpful tried to organise the boiler to be fixed and a local technician was
called. Unfortunately he couldn't fix it so Bob called the owner to pressure the company who installed it and had the warranty on it. We were told it most likely could not be fixed until the Monday or Tuesday. As it was Friday that meant three days with no hot water for showers. The cleaner left us a key to shower in a vacant cottage for that night which we did even though the cottage had not been cleaned after the previous guest. We called the owner in NZ
and he told us we had to boil kettles to fill the bath! The other option at this stage was to knock on another guests cottage and ask to use their shower! Really? No way were either of
these options acceptable. We are both active mature aged but to carry kettles of hot water to
fill the bath was not safe or acceptable. After long arguments with the owner who was extremely defensive and continuing to quote his contract conditions which are unreasonable we requested a refund which was refused so we agreed to see if they could get someone out on Saturday to fix it. My husband wrote to the owner an email late Friday evening to say his options were not acceptable if the boiler could not be fixed. Bob came to our cottage at 10am
to say it could not be fixed but the owner was now offering us to stay in the local pub until it was fixed. This was more acceptable although inconvenient so that is what we did. The boiler
was fixed Monday but our weeks holiday was spoilt as we had to endure three stressful days . The owner should have been more understanding and reasonable at the start of the problem and this would have resulted in a more kindly review. Bob was the one person who helped and was very understanding. To finish this review I would add the cottage needs a full
refurbishment. The carpets are dirty and it would be better to have tiled floors as there is mud everywhere in the area which gets brought in no matter how careful you are.. The communal laundry was dirty and the only washing machine working was under a bench so we had to get under on our knees with a torch. Not worth the amount of money we paid for the week. There are other cottages that might be nicer in this complex but make sure you read ALL the contract to ensure that you understand what could happen in the event you encounter any issues.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Reading this review is deeply upsetting. My staff and I bent over backwards for these guests. We could not have done more for them. I will respond to all the points in this review but please first read the review written before this one by guests who stayed in the cottage the week before. How can their experience have been so different? We often have guests arriving late at night and therefore provide really detailed arrival information on where to park, where to find the keys and how to locate their cottage. On the table inside the cottage is a welcome letter and a house-book with more details and information on everything guests will need for their holiday. My housekeeper Amy and maintenance caretaker Bob are there at the cottages every other day and their phone numbers and email addresses are in the house-book and arrival information, as are mine. My staff and I are available 7 days a week for our guests and we pride ourselves on the service we provide for our customers. The photos are accurate and we have many guests who love Whillan Beck Cottage, it is cosy and romantic. No one has complained that is dark. There are double doors for privacy and light, both downstairs and upstairs along with roof lights and there are windows on 3 of the 4 aspects. Our stairs are regulation width and pitch and no one has complained about our sofa cushions before - see sofa photo on my website. There is a storage cupboard under the stairs for suitcases. Yes the cottage is small and we advertise it as such. No one has ever complained about the bathroom, nor bumping their heads and my website photos clearly show the headroom in the bedroom is fine. The bed was brand new 4 weeks before these guests stayed. The mattress is a really comfortable 5 star quality king size mattress. I was therefore extremely surprised to be told and read that they thought the brand new mattress was too hard. Being located in the heart of the Lake District National Park we are well equipped to respond to any client requests and immediately had a mattress topper available for the guests. My housekeeper checked the TV which was working perfectly, the guests had not read the instructions on how to use the Sky TV controls. The bedroom has French doors which have solid wood lockable exterior doors and double glazed lockable internal doors with attractive French lace voile and thick curtains. The views from this window are exquisite and there are traditional 400 year old stone steps outside. The views are of the 17th Century pack-horse bridge, now a pedestrian bridge and the Whillan Beck and waterfall beyond - see our website photos. Many guests love to leave the skylight window slightly open to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the gently tumbling Whillan Beck after which the cottage is so aptly named. We had a top of the range Worcester Bosch boiler installed less than two years ago with a 10 year parts and labour guarantee. This should not have broken down but it did and being a warm week in the height of summer most guests would have taken this in their stride without it being a drama. I asked Bob to go immediately to see if he could find the problem. He called both the installer and manufacturer and was told they might be able to get an engineer to us the following day which was a Saturday and they would know by 10am Saturday. Bob then called our local plumber who came straight away, he did not have the right part and being Friday evening would not be able to get the part until Monday. I was born in New Zealand but have lived in England for over 30 years. I love old buildings and I converted the Farmhouse and barns at Bridge End into cottages for which we received accolades from the Lake District National Park planning authorities. I lived in the Lake District for 8 years in our Farmhouse, was then based in Cheltenham and then Nottingham. The guests actually used my landline at the cottages to call me on my UK number. I had a long conversation with the guests that evening, I was told to get the problem fixed immediately or they were leaving and would be demanding a full refund of their entire weeks rental. I explained that my staff and I were doing all we could to get the hot water working and I said I would personally call both the boiler installer and manufacturer on Saturday morning. I also offered other solutions such as using the bathroom in a cottage that was vacant that evening. We are also very well prepared for things occasionally breaking down. We have to be as we are in the heart of the National Park so carry a stock of spares eg kettles, toasters, DVD players, we even have a spare TV. We have two extra large 5 litre kettles which can fill a bath in 5 minutes. There is a socket just outside the bathroom door and we have extension leads so the kettles could have heated the water next to the bath. I was simply trying to find a solution which meant the least disturbance for our guests and some people would have chosen this in preference to using a bathroom in another cottage. I also said I would enquire if either of the local Inns had rooms that weekend. So that evening I checked with both Inns and they had rooms. Despite my best endeavours with the installer and manufacturer on Saturday morning they could not get an engineer to our rural area in the heart of the mountains that day but booked us for first call out Monday morning. I informed the guests. I gave them all the options and they choose to take a look at the two local Inns choosing the more expensive one and I paid for them to spend two nights there. The boiler was fixed first thing Monday morning by the Worcester Bosch engineer and Bob and Amy helped settle the guests back into the cottage for the remainder of their week. My staff and I pride ourselves on our customer care, we are available for our customers 7 days a week at any time of the day. I tried to point out that the timing of the breakdown (Friday evening) was very unfortunate, however, we would do all we could to fix the problem as quickly as humanly possible. We are remote from large towns with plumbers merchants and it is not always possible to get things fixed the same day. When the guests demanded all their money back I tried to point out that I could not give guests all their money back if an appliance broke down. This is not a 100 room hotel, it is a unique individual cottage and we were doing all we possibly could and were offering several solutions regarding hot water and they chose one of these. To give the full weeks money back would have meant the cottage vacant all week and all that our terms and conditions say are that if guests encounter a problem they need to give us the opportunity to fix it and that they should not abandon the cottage. Our carpets are steam cleaned regularly by my housekeeper and our laundry room is mopped several times a week and there are two washing machines and two tumble dryers free for our customers to use. I feel that occasionally guests coming from abroad do not understand that this is a unique 400 year old Grade 2 Listed Cottage in the heart of the mountains. It is not a purpose built modern apartment or one room in a large city hotel. It was very unlucky that a fairly new appliance broke down on a Friday evening. We did our best to get it fixed as quickly as we could and offered several solutions for hot water in the meantime. We all try our absolute best to ensure our customers have a lovely holiday. Excellent customer service is at the heart of our philosophy in caring for our holidaymakers and my staff and I are always striving to improve the service we offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We really can't choose!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
846Lisa
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture postcard idyll”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over a very warm Easter weekend and the cottage was the perfect location for a wonderful anniversary weekend.
The cottage is the perfect size for two people with gorgeous views and all the amenities you could required.
The village of Boot is very pretty and a great location to reach all manner of walks from easy to difficult.
The close location to the ratty (railway) makes for a lovely day out too.
The two pubs are literally on you door step serving good food, ales and whiskey.
Phone reception and wifi is nearly non existent - which was exactly what we wanted (there is a phone box in the village and you can access the farm's wifi if you desperately need to keep in touch with the real world.
I'd thoroughly recommend both the cottage and the location for those who want to escape from it all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had a wonderful anniversary weekend in Whillan Beck Cottage.

All our cottages have good wi fi internet which is free and the access code is in the house-book in each cottage.

Mobile phone signal does improve a short hike up on the fells or a short drive down the valley where the valley widens out. Many guests use the wi fi to make Skype calls.

Or as you say, don't log on and truly escape for a few days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and easy access to other Lakes areas
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2011 for a stay in June 2010
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Looking at the beck from the bedroom
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing