We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Stunning!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The stone Bothy (for separate hire when taking the main house)
Welcome Hamper
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gareth B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Stunning!”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We walked past this property in the summer whilst camping at Fisherground and immediately said to each other, 'wouldn't it be amazing if we could come back and stay there?'. So we did!
The cottage is in a beautiful location with walks straight from the door both up the fells and along the river. The accommodation has everything you need and more with a superbly equipped kitchen and several comfy living spaces. Complimentary logs means you can enjoy the fire every night. The dry room is really useful for when the kids and dog fall off the stepping stones at the church!
The Eskdale valley is amazing with views of Scafell, Hardknott and Harter Fell. Dalegarth Falls are a must see. Our favourite pub was the Boot Inn as the staff were exceptionally friendly, although the food in the Brook House Inn was good as well. Both dog friendly.
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the conservatory
Liked least: blocked dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous as others have said”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The best cottage in the lakes we have stayed in. This was our first visit to this side of the park, which is much more remote than the standard fare in coniston, Ambleside and Keswick. There is not a whole lot going on in the vicinity if you want shops and attractions. There are however 3 very welcoming dog friendly pubs within walking distance and some excellent walking, whatever your level of fitness (we walked carrying 2 small children and were fund but more challenging walks were available. We did the tesco food delivery as recommended by others. The driver knows the area so no problems delivering.

We were 2 adults, a toddler, a baby and 2 dogs. The house was perfect for all. Well stocked kitchen with everything you'd have at home so you can properly cook. Everything is provided and is good quality, not the cheap tat you get in many rentals.

Bathrooms are very nice and towels and linens provided and again good quality. We had warm but wet December weather but the house was always the perfect temperature. The underfloor heating was just lovely.

There was plenty of room and lots of different places to sit to eat, read, watch the good tvs or just snooze. The garden is completely safe for dogs and this is the first time we've been away with them and I've not been fretting about them getting out.

We loved sitting in the snug and the conservatory in particular because of the views which are stunning.

A drive over the Hardknott pass is a must.

Thank you to the owner and her team for excellent attention to detail and care shown to customers. Can't wait to book again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage fabulous location”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just returned from our second visit to church house we went with friends and will be going back again in the summer .
The weather wasn't great but the cottage with its huge log fire in the living room was fantastic just sat on an evening in front of the roaring log fire with a glass or two of wine .
The location is fantastic loads of walks and 2 pubs at the end of the lane .
probarly shudnt tell you how fanatastic the cottage an area is in case we can't get booked in again but I can't recommend it enough !

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona P
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“shusssh.... it's too good to share!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Fabulous. Idyllic location, and the cottage surpassed our expectations. Very generously kitted out for your every need in a beautiful and very comfortable style, even down to a towel for your dog. It was a pleasure to come back to after walking on the fells, and a wet day was almost a good excuse to stay in and curl up by the fire, or look out from the beautiful sun room out to the grand open vista opposite, with a good book and glass of wine. Good pubs nearby. Thoroughly recommend.
One negative comment, I was disappointed that it was advertised as sleeping 10, but only if you pay extra for the Bothy,which, at Easter prices already bumped up, this was quite steep, but they were helpful and accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: luxurious in a superb location
Liked least: Some lumpy mattresses.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Enjoyed reading your lovely review for Church House; we pride ourselves in our review history! We like to keep refreshing and adding to the cottages at all times. Unfortunately the new mattresses that were purchased from Sealey Beds (made in Cumbria!)were delivered the wrong size, it's the family bedroom that was having an upgrade and we have been assured that after Easter our correct replacements will be ready for us to use. Also the Bothy is only available in the warmer summer months. We have now made extra clarification on our website...... Over and out, Didy and the Team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff L
1 review
“Sheer bliss”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is the second time I've been to this property and once again it's simply amazing. So quiet and a perfect place to get away from the hustle bustle of everyday life and work. Whether it's going for a hearty walk, visiting the local pub to watch some rugby or simply sitting with a glass of wine in front of the fire, just perfect. I'll be booking again in the New Year to go with my children and friends, can't wait :-)

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I got married at st catherines church in october and me and my family rented church house for the week. It was amazing, they had thought of everything. What a lovely location can't think of anywhere better. The house itself is stunning, very sympathetically restored with modern touches where appropriate. A comfortable and cosy place to enjoy this beautiful part of the lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and solid fuel range for cooking.
Liked least: Became a bit smoky when open fire lit in living room - I think chimney may need a clean...I'm a smoker so didn't really notice that much but other members of the family found it a bit much...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
From 17th -21st November Church house is having a routine maintenance check. New 300 thread count linen and towels will be provided. Both chimney flues in the house were relined using 'lime-crete'; a very messy but necessary process as part of the complete renovation. One of the engineer from the company who did the work is paying us a visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OMG. What a lovely place. In more ways than one!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have stayed in quite a few cottages etc throughout the UK over the years. They have generally ranged from good to very good. In our view Church House is by far the best and deserves an excellent rating.
There was clearly no expense spared during the renovation and equipping of the house. This theme continues with the little touches like all washing materials, welcome pack with a bottle of bubbly and as many logs you would need for the fire and oven as you would ever need.
I suppose anybody can add the little touches above but what really makes Church House stand out is its charm, quirkiness and location. As soon as I walked into the place I felt an odd mixture of excitement and relaxation at the same time. What's that about?? I was still exploring the odd nooks and crannies several hours after arrival. I even found an old battered 'Mrs Beetons Cookbook' with hand written recipes in it for christ's sake!!
The location is also ideal, you can go on walks from the front door for 10 minutes or 10 hours, from easy river walks to strenuous mountain walks. The easiest walk is 5 minutes to the nearest pub which offers above than average pub food and very friendly staff. Plus 150 whisky's! That is of course if you can drag yourself away from Church House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing