We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very English”
Review of Eskdale Mill

Eskdale Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Boot
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very English”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The mill is a wonder of wooden machines with an outside area next to some falls for a picnic. Quite literally everything has been labelled by your slightly eccentric host causing a fair few giggles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You really need to find this little place, for the young and old”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We totally stumbled upon this place by accident when looking for refreshments. If not for the Walls ice cream sign, we'd never have found it.

It requests a donation to go inside the mill from the shop. Everything that meets the eye is engaging. There are humourous explanations and historical tidbits. The miller started up and demonstrated the mill to us, though he was difficult to hear over the clackety-clacking. The mill not only shows how milling was done in days gone by, but also other aspects of life. I was amused by the "women's stuff" corner.

This is so worth a trip out of your way, but the mill also needs to have signs pointing the way. And not just an ice cream sign!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fenedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

What a magical place this was. The miller was incredibly informative and nothing was too much bother for him. He even started the waterwheel up for us and we hadn't even asked if this would be possible. We went on a pretty cold and wet day and it was still a lovely place to visit. We'll be back and will bring friends with us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank glasshalffull01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stumbled upon the Eskdale Mill in the tiny village of Boot, after riding the steam train from Ravenglass to Dalegarth. This mill certainly is a hidden gem. We found it refreshing that the very informal exhibitions are all "hands on", and are accompanied by labels and information written by someone with a really good sense of humour. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable, and the good-humoured miller was more than happy to answer our many questions. The icing on the cake was being able to wander around in the idyllic woodland area behind the mill building, where we spent some time watching the water and enjoying the peaceful surroundings. This mill, and indeed the little village itself, is a rare find and I would recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyKays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were staying in Boot and decided to visit the mill after a trip on the steam railway. Well worth a visit and highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reiki1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eskdale Mill also viewed

 
Ravenglass, Lake District
Eskdale, Lake District
 

Been to Eskdale Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing