We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Christcliff

Little Christcliff
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Christcliff
The cosy lounge Little Christcliff front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Little Christcliff
The cosy lounge
Little Christcliff front door
Relax and enjoy the sun!
Little Christcliff
Well equipped kitchen
Relax in the cosy lounge
The lounge
Dining area
Double bedroom
Single room
Room with a view!
Each room is tastefully decorated
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Peaceful location
Lovely setting
Little Christcliff
Fantastic location
Lovely location
Enjoy the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jon G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is perfect for exploring eskdale and the surrounding area. Very dog friendly with enclosed garden to the back and front. There is a porch so you can keep muddy boots and wet coats out the cottage and a laundry area where you can hang all your wet gear to drip dry. The cottage has everything you need and is very comfortable. The location is great only 9 mins walk to the woolpack inn and about 15 mins the other way for the boot inn. There was a footpath 5 mins away that takes you to the river esk where you can follow it downstream to St Catherines church an a short walk to boot, we enjoyed doing this in the evening. A short drive to the bottom of hardnott pass you can walk up harter fell and back via the old roman fort. From the cottage there is also a foot path to eel tarn and beyond to the sca fells. We saw Malcolm on our arrival and mid week who was very friendly and helpfull. The views while sitting on the front garden are fab and we spent most mornings and evenings staring out. Basically we love it here and have already decided to return next year to explore even more of the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you Jon & Wendy, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Best wishes
Malcolm & Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn l
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we need. Was perfect for taking the dogs as the garden was secluded and fenced so we could spend time out there. Great walks from the door and their were 3 pubs within walking distance that served tasty food in a traditional, friendly atmosphere. We will be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cottage
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johng1320...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Explore”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 very cosy nights in December. Set in a remote but beautiful part of the lakes with some amazing walks, our only regret is that we did not have longer to explore them all. The cottage has everything you need and is really warm and comfortable during the cold winter nights with great pubs just a short walk away. Our large dog had no problems and we found the cottage to be very dog friendly. We had no phone signal or internet during our stay but who needs it in a place like this!? We found it to be a welcome break and a chance to turn off the mobile phones for a change. Our thanks to Malcolm & Jenny for a great stay and we hope to visit again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from our bedroom, amazing
Liked least: A couple of radiators didn't work, but we we're still able to keep the cottage warm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nics61
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in a great corner of the Lake District”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Three of us stayed at Malcolm's beautiful little cottage for 2nights. It was spotless, comfortable beds and with a well equipped kitchen. Malcolm was very friendly and gave us some suggestions on walks which was much appreciated. Just a shame we couldn't stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexM1118...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic. We will be returning!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Fabulous cottage in a perfect location. Breathtaking views and some of the best walks we've ever done from the doorstep. Very well equipped, lovely warm and spacious rooms. The area is blissfully quiet yet a short walk from 3 great pubs and eateries and a small village shop.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing