We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bravo whisky”
Review of The Boot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boot Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Boot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“bravo whisky”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here with my son for three days to do a bit of exploring around Eskdale , Hardknott pass and Wrynose Pass, we normally have camped at the National Trust site in Wasdale over recent years. The Boot Inn is in a ideal situation to have as a Base camp for tackling the fells from a different perspective. Nice Pub with large beer gardens, some nice real ales on, food was typical pub grub but hit the spot after eight or nine hours on the fells, our room was basic, room 3, shower room, toilet, very pokey and think the mirror over the sink must have been fitted by a very short person. Staff were ok and friendly enough, we stayed in July 2014, I was told that the owners of the Boot were selling the Pub very soon, in fact a man was around taking a infantry of the property while we were there, so if we go again it could be a completely different experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    91
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
67
174
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had eaten at The Boot several years ago and the food and service was fantastic so we decided to go there again this year. We were unable to book a table on the Saturday but found a table easily. The menu had been reduced and seemed a bit pricey. We ordered our food. Some came without the veg, homemade chips were only just cooked. And one meal was taken to another table. We didn't receive the children's desserts either. Service was awful and they messed up the bill so a group of 4 ended up with our bill and us theirs. However, it was to our benefit. We tried again the following Friday night and the other chef must have been on cos the good was excellent and came with all the veg etc.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Straight into the bar and ordered food and drinks after a three hour drive.
I have to say the fish, I had with the chips, was awful, probably the worst I have ever tried. It arrived suspiciously quickly. One end of the fish was hot and the other not quite so. It was cooked through but the batter was pale,soggy and insipid and not brown and crisp as it a should be. Were they dipped, frozen and microwaved? After a complaint the bill was halved. My wife's meal also arrived remarkably quickly, steak pie and vegetables which looked unappetising. I wonder how they were cooked?
A couple of beers were on but I can't remember what they were like.
So this was just one visit but I won't be going again. You should to try it for yourself to see if I just happened on a bad night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Average breakfast and place to visit. You get what you pay for no extra which was different. Staff were very friendly though. Would visit again but wouldn't go out of my way to visit.it Is located in a very lovely place and the food was nice

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppylove85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After a long day walking the nearby fells what could be more enjoyable than a great pint of real ale and a wholesome meal.
The beer lived up to the billing as we both tucked into a pint. But then we were told that there was no food service between 2.30pm and 6pm, we had arrived around 3.15pm. Having checked out the Boot's website before we set off which claims to serve food from 12 noon to 9pm, the boards outside the pub also confirm the myth of "food served all-day". There was even a board on the bar advertising sandwiches - these were also unavailable until 6pm. The reason we were given was that the kitchen staff needed a break……….hungry customers seeking the advertised service don't matter.

Fortunately for us crisps were still on the menu and available for purchase. Seabrook's Canadian Ham crisps come highly recommended, a shame the same can't be said for the Boot Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at The Boot Inn when walking the western section of the Roman Road over the Wrynose and Hardknott passes from Ambleside to Ravenglass, so a cold drink from the bar and a very hot bath in the room were very welcome on arrival. Enjoyed the black pudding starter for dinner but the burger, a speciality of the pub, was more volume than tasty beef, but made good trail food for the following day.

The pub is ideally located at the head of the Ravenglass & Eskdale narrow gauge railway, by definition close to the Dalegarth for Boot terminus, and offers a good bar and menu selection to complement its B&B accommodation, which unfortunately does not appear to be matched by the same commitment to serving a decent breakfast, evidenced by a distinct lack of any other early morning staff than the single person on duty.

Another personal negative was the noise from the aircon system below the window of room 5 at the side end of the building, which meant little sleep after a tiring hard day's walking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrellj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in this B&B in the hamlet of Boot over the last May bank holiday weekend. The rooms are lovely and very clean, the bathroom was slightly dated but spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water after a day of walking. This is not a five star hotel and does not have these rates but is an excellent B&B. The pub itself is outstanding with a selection of local beers and some great pub food - the burger seems to be a speciality. We ate here for two nights (excellent) and also in the Brook House Inn 100m away (also excellent, more restaurant type food). People seem to travel to the Boot Inn for food so it is worth booking a table over holiday periods. The location of the pub cannot be beaten, Boot is idyllic and the place to be for walkers. Numerous walks straight from the door including Scafell. Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wooseyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
3.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
6.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boot Inn

Property: The Boot Inn
Address: Eskdale Valley, Boot CA19 1TG, England (Formerly the Burnmoor Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boot Inn nestles in the tiny hamlet of Boot, deep in the heart of the Eskdale Valley. Within easy walking distance of The English Lake Districts largest and most majestic fells, yet only 7 miles from the sea. We provide first class food, drink and accommodation with nine letting bedrooms, bar, conservatory and snug areas, we also have ample car parking and a large beer garden. The inn itself has been catering for the hungry and thirsty travellers since the 17th century, offering a selection of traditionally kept cask ales, fine wines, sprits, continental beers, soft drinks and excellent food. At the Boot Inn we endeavour to source as many of our ingredients and most of our produce locally including the almost legendary cumberland sausages. Everybody is welcome included our four legged friends. With real log fires for those chilly autumn, winter or even summer days, a warm welcome is always guaranteed. The valley provides a wealth of opportunity for outdoor activity with Scafell, Great Gable, Harter Fell, Bowfelll, Crinkle Crags and many others all within walking distance without having to cross a single road! Cyclists can pitt themselves against the Hardknott and Wrynose passes, the steepest section of road in England leading to the Duddon Valley and Langdale. For those of a more spiritual and historical interest there is to be found the remains of a Roman Fort in the upper reaches of the valley and the beautiful 14th century church of St Catherines only a short stroll away. Slightly further afield attractions such as Muncaster Castle and Eskdale Golf Course are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boot Hotel Boot
The Boot Inn Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing