We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, fantastic food, warm and welcoming,great beer and wine, good value”
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Boot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We rented at the owners big house down the road(Stanley House),for a large party of 30 to celebrate a 60 th birthday party for a long weekend.
By arrangement Henry Berger collected us in his ex army truck which has lots of seats.to take us to the Woolpack Inn for our family meal.
Everyone enjoyed the ride.we had booked the food in advance (as their was 30)
Everything ran like clockwork,everyones food as ordered, Service very friendly, made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.roaring hot wood burners made the pub very cosy.
The big choice of local beers, great wines, friendly service, the pub was busy on the Saturday night, but plenty of staff. Very clean ,exciting ride back in the truck, definitely recommend ,we will be back with our friends,the area is so beautiful, Mark Ingleby, Shipham, Somerset.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stopped in for a late lunch after navigating the Eskdale Light railway and the Hardknott pass (with an 11-week old in tow felt slight guilt in the car passing the adventurous cyclists!). Quite simply a great atmosphere, sympathetic and inspiring fusion of modern twists in renovation and decoration, with the authentic feel and look of a Fell Inn. The welcome and hospitality of the family owners and the young bar staff was brilliant, attending to our each and every need before we needed ask for cushions to prop up the baby so he could sit and watch us eat, or feed the dog titbits! The locally sourced food was quite simply exquisite too. The menu was expansive but simple, and so enticing I asked to combine both the valley mutton and the beef burger in one double - not a problem at all and a mouth watering result coupled with chips that as previously described were excellent. We all concluded that the burger(s) were the best we had ever tasted. We will return now to sample the rooms as we left salivating for more, and jealous of the cyclists' ability to work off their meal, and be more able to sample the selection of ales and drinks at the bar than we were, this time....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We ate here after a long day walking and it was the perfect end to the day. The staff were friendly and provided excellent service. The ales brewed at the pub and were fantastic. The Cumberland sausage was very good and all of our group had a really enjoyable night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sunlighter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The best Inn in the area by far, nothing was too much trouble and the food was perfect. We had a couple of nights there and have already booked to go back we loved it so much. The staff were super friendly and so much fun behind the bar - literally our favourite place to go in the Lakes now. Walking around there is just what you need, some easy, some more difficult. Can't fault the place for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethelakes118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our family visited the Woolpack on 12th April 2012 on the recommendation of our fell-walking son who has been several times previously, He and his mate set off up Scafell and we enjoyed a stunning walk along the banks of the River Esk in beautiful weather. We all met up for a great meal in the Bar. One of us had an "excellent calzone" (his words) and one had the great tasting local sirloin steak. Two of us got stuck into the enormous steak and kidney pies with proper chips - great fell-walkers' food. Nice friendly greetngs from the staff good beers and and warm comfortable relaxed atmosphere. We will come again next time we are up in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank catlover043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

As a group we visited this pub a couple of times during a week staying in Boot. With the signs for Sky Sports outside we weren't expecting much. On walking in we were very warmly welcomed by the staff. The place has a good atmosphere and good beers on offer.
While the food wasn't of restaurant quality, it was great pub food. Wholesome, tasty and decent portions which is exactly what you need after a day out on the hills.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildcardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

You don't expect a palace when you are at an Inn that caters mainly for those who have gone for the outdoors , however, the first and remaining impression here is ' tired' needs a revamp. Work seems to be in progress with the bedrooms where these were of a good standard. A good and friendly welcome from all staff which continued throughout my stay. No complaints in the bar where there is a good small collection of real ales ,including their own from the on site Hardknott micro brewery. The main issue with this establishment is the quality of their food. Very disappointing but after a day on the fells, I just wanted to eat. The exception was that they provided home made chips.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
4.5 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
7.0 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanley House
Stanley House
#8 of 10 in Eskdale
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Address: Near Boot, Eskdale Valley, Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Price Range: £78 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woolpack Inn is one of Cumbria’s most historic inns, we are a friendly pub, filled with great ales, hearty food, lots of laughter and a few surprises. We look forward to welcoming you, your family, friends and dogs very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Boot
Woolpack Inn Boot, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing