We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunchtime stop”
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Boot B&B and Inns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime stop”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Parked, good hike, then back for well earned drink and lunch. Pizzas were excellent as well mutton casserole specials. Dogs allowed in bar. Huge tv for sport enthusiasts and lovely setting. Pub offers fresh, homemade pizzas made in own pizza oven as well as more traditional fayre.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolcookingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    76
    28
    27
    14
See reviews for
47
104
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We visited The Woolpack on a warm Sunday evening, attracted by claims of great food in the pub's leaflets... Oh how we were disappointed!
The main plus of the premises is of course is it's scenic location and it is truly lovely, however the pub doesn't seem to know what it wants to be - outside is a large terrace with picnic bench seating and a country feel, inside is a tacky cocktail bar vibe complete with giant TV screen showing Sky Sports.
We ordered our meals from the extensive menu but when they arrived it was a major let-down. The 'Pie Of The Day' was cumberland sausage topped with 'creamy mashed potato' and accompanied by vegetables - what was presented bore little resemblance. A feeble portion of sausage chunks topped by a dry scab-like crust of overcooked potato was accompanied by a pile of the most repulsive greasy & soggy chips I've ever experienced.
My partner went for the tuna pizza which she reported had possibly been waved over a tin of tuna, so little was actually on top.
Because of The Woolpack's location, it has something of a captive audience, I would advise a trip half a mile up the road to Boot village, where there are two much superior eating establishments.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank WenlockStout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Recently went for supper as recommended by friends.
Placed order at bar, 30 minutes later order arrived,however only part order arrived spoke to waitress who assured me the rest was on the way. Finished our meal still the rest hadn't arrived and no explanation!! Asked for money back for the rest of the order as there was no point in it coming now we had finished!!
Also visited the toilets which were dirty, no toilet roll and didn't flush.
Disappointing really as its in such a lovely location and was highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakeybakeybradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Superb place. Great food, wonderful room, nice people and what a location. Perfect base to walk from. Get there and you don't need the car again. Impossible to do anything but relax. Would be great in summer or winter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melindi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

f you are attempting the HardKnott pass run, or returning from it then you must stop at this friendly pub. Nice garden to relax in (you need it after HardKnott).
Good selection of real ales, my favourite Hardknott Black.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My wife & I have had several good meals at the Woolpack & we were not disappointed again yesterday. The scampi & chips was truly excellent, my wife said the lasagne was the best she had ever tasted & the meal was made complete by some great, well kept Haystacks beer. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sfcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I recently went to the woolpack inn for a meal with some friends and we ordered four pepperoni calzones, when they arrived they were quite small for the price of them, but upon cutting into them we discovered that the dough was raw, a large amount of liquid ran out of it and then dripped of the wooden board it was on. It was a shame as I was recommend this was the place to eat in especially the pizzas, overall I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pubsofthevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
2.1 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
15.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Property: Woolpack Inn
Address: Near Boot, Eskdale Valley, Boot CA19 1TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Boot
Woolpack Inn Boot, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing