We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Boot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for 3 days in one of the B&B rooms, which was comfortable and cosy. The bed was super comfy, and the rooms were quiet even when the bar was busy (they are not above the bar). The food was fantastic - I had a Gluten free pizza from the wood oven, which I can safely say was by the far the best gf pizza I have ever had, miles better than Pizza Express or Zizzi. During the course of our stay we also had steak, mutton and ribs and wings, all of which were top quality and super tasty. The staff were attentive and fun, and made some excellent cocktails.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliathesecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    77
    28
    28
    15
See reviews for
48
105
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently stayed at the woolpack on a Bed breakfast evening meal great pub/hotel great food real ale and the dog enjoyed it too thanks to all staff
Great area for walking great place to escape from the rat race

Room Tip: If your travelling here don't go over the pass it's very dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosforth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have visited the Woolpack on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. We had visitors for the weekend and decided to go for our Sunday lunch at the Woolpack. The Sunday roast was excellent, a generous portion reasonably priced with a great variety of vegetables often lacking in other establishments. The beef was beautiful and I love the fact that it was local. It's refreshing to see the wholehearted support the owners give to locally produced produce and their seasonal menu really showcases this.

Service was excellent and the range of drinks, many locally produced, was again exceptional. We really enjoyed our afternoon at the Woolpack and would defy anyone to find fault in either the food, service or ambiance. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Inn looks great from the outside. Inside it's a mix of olde worlde and extra modern and wide screen TV.

We ordered a mixture of main courses including spare ribs and wings, steak, pizza etc. The chips were undercooked. Even hungry teenage boys couldn't stomach the ribs and wings that appeared to have been deep fried with no seasoning whatsoever and again were undercooked.
My steak, to be fair, was reasonable (even if they did forget to bring the peppercorn sauce)

As a group of 20 ,we must have left more than half of our food. It must have been obvious to the kitchen that something wasn't right but seemingly returning full plates didn't ring alarm bells.
We paid our (fully priced at £75 for 2 adults 2 children) bill and left.

Maybe we were unlucky. Eat at your peril.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Dropped in for a quick bar snack. We ordered a hot beef butty and a chip butty and waited ... and waited... and then we were told there was no white bread, would brown do? Then we waited ... and waited... and eventually the food arrived. Thin 'catering' slices of curled up beef, no onions, in thin brown sliced bread - ugh! The chips were also 'catering' fries and also in thin brown bread. We had expected some nice fresh baked crusty bread, or a soft bap, so.. really disappointing. Beer was OK but only two real ales on handpump - not good for a CAMRA rated pub. Would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Food; hit and miss some 4 meals ordered 1 not great 2 ok 1 very good. Breakfast excellent.
Beer very good selection and quality
Service: during breaks in the bar staffs conversation it sort of happens
rooms: oh dear, there is something in their bumph that claims they are in a 4 year plan which started almost 4 years ago!!!! either we were in the last room to be done or it was a pipe dream. Patches of bare wall where the plaster had come off, a bare plywood headboard and a bathroom that looked like you could only come out of it dirtier than you went in
Take a look at some of the comments for both this and its sister hotel Stanley House, both have numerous comments saying how cold it is and that the heating was never on, sadly its true, for the prices charged you shouldnt have to sit in bed fully clothed shivering!
Its a shame because the location is fantastic some of the staff were excellent but its a bit drab and the 80s wine bar look whilst initially is amusing just starts to look a bit sad after a while

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As a last minute getaway I was surprised to get a room at the Inn given the great reports on this site. Our room was clean and warm as were the toilet/shower room (not en-suite) and the bed supremely comfortable. We ate in the Inn and apart from the long wait to get our food (some of which we were warned about), getting the wrong starter, my food was well presented. My girlfriends pie was not really a pie but a ceramic pot with a pastry lid and the lid was burnt and inedible. That aside the atmosphere was great and the establishment was packed with outdoor types. The evening entertainment was brilliant and went well into the night. Despite that little noise was heard in our room when we decided to retire for the night. We climbed Scafell the next day and returned late afternoon for a lovely coffee, hot chocolate and cake before returning home to Newcastle. All in all a lovely location, venue and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room number 2 is well positioned and quiet but quite compact, however it doesn't have an en-suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
2.1 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
1.6 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Property: Woolpack Inn
Address: Near Boot, Eskdale Valley, Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Boot
Woolpack Inn Boot, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing