We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny portions”
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Boot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tiny portions”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A lovely venue with a really child friendly setup. The food portions were far too small. The 'Tatie Pot' in particular is to be avoided. Miniscule and would not do as a starter let alone a main for £9.50!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuileShuibhne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    77
    28
    28
    15
See reviews for
48
105
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Tucked away -- almost literally -- in the middle of nowhere on a narrow road winding from Hardknott Pass towards Cumbria's west coast, the Woolpack is one of the oddest mixes of ancient and modern, traditional and aspirational boutique we've ever encountered anywhere.

Walk in the door to the pub and you're in a world which dates back to 1729, according to the woodwork panelling of a handsome inset wall cupboard. . . but then go off in search of the actual bar, and you're required to head to the opposite end of the rambling building to something called the "top" bar where the counter fittings are very much hi-style metro shiny.

In between the far left of the building and the far right, the furnishings and carpeting are not so much Retro 1940s / early 1950s as seemingly genuine examples of the period: anyone arriving here having not visited for, let's say, the past 60 years would, it seems, find nothing much changed.

It's clean and on our lunchtime visit, was warm, but ambiance was there none, the result of so disconcerting a lack of unifying aesthetic: a traditional Lake District pub, this certainly ain't.
We had intended to eat there but ultimately felt so little in the way of comforting welcome -- and definitely, no comfort at all in the well-nigh flattened worn cushioning of leather sofas that should've been chucked out long since -- that we decided to go elsewhere, a decision which, to judge by other recent TA reviews here on the quality and price of the food, seems to have been quite wise.

We opted instead to ask the young American barman to mix us a half pint glass of orange cordial with soda, and half a pint of a beer that though notably uncharacteristic of traditional Cumbrian brews, was one previously encountered in Italy and enjoyed: Birra Moretti, drawn from one of the hi-tech hi-rise pillar pumps in the top bar. It was only after leaving the Woolpack and continuing on westbound that realisation belatedly dawned that at £4.20p for the Birra Moretti, we'd just sampled what must be one of the most expensive beers on tap in any bar anywhere in the UK.

Had a mistake been made, then responsibility for it was entirely the barman's fault: he did seem to spend an inrodinate amount of time, trying to figure out, at the till, what we should be being charged for our two drinks. It was also entirely our fault for not noticing any over-charging at the time and, therefore, failing to get it put right. If, however, a mistake hadn't been made, and the Woolpack really is charging the equivaent of $14 for a pint of Italian beer, then it might be best to slake one's thirst there only after becoming teetotal or going somewhere else where a beer doesn't come at the same price as liquid gold.

Verdict: though its location in this attractive and untamed part of the Western Lakes has appeal, the Woolpack Inn's dissonant collision of the ancient and the modern, the time-worn and the boutiquey, and -- in our case -- that $14 a pint Birra Moretti price tag means we won't be going back nor could ever recommend the place to anyone else. There are far, far better hostelries throughout the Lake District with an infinitely greater traditional ambience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Odysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fabulous pub, very charming. Definitely worth a visit. The best pub in the area in my opinion, much better than the Boot which fell woefully short. We particularly liked that they pick you up from the entrance of the pub on a lorry to prevent you having to climb a hill to get there. Highly recommended - keep up the good work guys.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WarringtonRachela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I had visited the a Woolpack last year and decided to use this a the venue for a family celebration weekend. As in October I was not disappointed. Harry and Paddington have developed this Inn to a high standard - they have well trained, well motivated staff who actually know how to talk to people and apologise if something is not quite right. Food was to the high standard I expected - you must try the pizzas - and the drink was of a high standard (the wine list is extensive if pricey) although not sure about the lemon and ginger cider of which we all sampled a half pint! Breakfast was good - only criticism wad that the sausages could have been bigger but the bacon was lovely. Some of e reviews have moaned about the rooms. This is an Inn in a remote part of the Uk in a building that was not just thrown together yesterday so yes the floors might creak a bit but it has a great character and we had no noise issues at all. Brilliant weekend. Thank you Harry, Paddington and their superb team.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Location is excellent. Accommodation is average. Walls so thin you can hear everything - including people going to the loo. Evening meals are small and basic. Pool table was good. Breakfast was better although not included in the cost. All in all the place needs a revamp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic location with stunning views. Food and drink excellent and at a reasonable price. Very dog friendly. We stopped for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochfordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a charming pub. Having just driven over hardknott pass we stopped here for some food and boy was I glad we did. The pub is modern and friendly. The food was excellent as was the service. We would defiantly visit this establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
2.1 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
1.6 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Property: Woolpack Inn
Address: Near Boot, Eskdale Valley, Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Boot
Woolpack Inn Boot, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing