We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woderful Time”
Review of The High Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton in Furness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The High Cross Inn
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woderful Time”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had a wonderful time over the weekend. The music festival was amazing and created a great atmosphere for myself and my family, well done Phil and Liz. Food great as always. Hope you do this again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    33
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed by our stay at the High Cross Inn. Although the bedroom was clean and an effort had been made to spruce up the decor, the visual effect of the modern white bedding was marred by a cheap duvet and pillows and by the smell of deep fat frying. The bathroom was adequate but the decor was tired and shabby (grubby loft door and stained grouting in the shower).

The whole building could do with redecoration and a bit of tidying up.
We had booked rooms for two couples but no-one had bothered to tell us that there was a music festival at the pub, with live, amplified music (of the grungy sort) playing outside our bedrooms until twenty past midnight. It only stopped then because my friend went down to ask for silence! Apparently the performers and their audience had been expecting the show to go on until at least 2am.
The manageress told us that they had booked the festival after they had taken our bookings and that it had been too good an opportunity to turn down. We should have been told and given an opportunity to book somewhere else.
I suppose that this place is good if you are looking for accommodation at the bottom end of the market - but never again for me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tolponds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I arraigned to meet my family here for a weekend in May . My mother in law brother in law and his companion. Its a very well run very friendly place with quaint rooms and a nice pub.
Good location near the lake district .Good location on the estuary for its own value.
The owners and staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Nice full English breakfast in a very nice dining room with a view. I would highly recommend this establishment

Room Tip: almost all the rooms have a great view either of the estuary or the surrounding hilss
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawchicago2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed for the weekend and would not hesitate to recommend the HIgh Cross Inn. Liz and Phil (the owners) were so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was very good and really filling. We had dinner on two nights and the food was excellent. The warm goats cheese served with crispy salad and buttery new potatoes was gorgeous. Our room was small but cosy with a spectacular, panoramic view of the surrounding fells. The inn is in a good location for visiting the southern lakes. The Lakes Aquarium at Lakeside, Newby Bridge is a good choice for less sunny days (we particularly loved the otters and watching the ducks diving underwater in the tunnel). Ferry trips on the lake and the Haverthwaite steam railway run from here and joint tickets are good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susyqxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We've been regular eaters and drinkers at the High Cross for some time, but we thought we'd have to try their new menu. I am a vegetarian and was impressed at the choice - 6 different options, and no Parmesan (which is never vegetarian)

I really enjoyed my mixed mushroom nut roast, which had discernible pieces of mushroom plus plenty of nuts. It was served with new potatoes, carrots and broccoli.

My meat-eating other half was very pleased with his fish pie, which had a generous mashed potato topping.

Service was friendly and swift. It was a very quiet evening, though. But all in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this pub.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ShockingpinkCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The owners of this hotel couldn't be nicer,vey welcoming and helpful. The food is good ,especially the breakfast ,and the bar is obviously vey popular with the locals-always a good sign. Rooms have lovely views. I hadn't realised how close to the Lake District it is here. Bathrooms can be a little on the small side depending on the room- you can wash your feet in the shower while sitting on the toilet lol,but thats a detail-wouldn't think twice about staying here again.Handy for the Cumbrian coastal way and the southern Lake District.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabella2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

called in at high cross for lunch Sunday 27 01 2013 excellent food and real ales thouroughly enjoyed it will be back to enjoy good company ,roaring log fire,and beer in this dog friendly pub they even coped with our great dane

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesmedhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The High Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Cross Inn

Property: The High Cross Inn
Address: Broughton in Furness LA20 6ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton in Furness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton in Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The High Cross Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Coaching Inn with Open Fire and Conservatory Restaurant with Magical Food & Spectacular Views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The High Cross Inn Broughton In Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing