We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food: Better than you think - trust me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The High Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton in Furness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The High Cross Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Food: Better than you think - trust me!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I didn't have high hopes for this place - it was pouring with rain, we needed a driving break and some lunch so we dove in to this pub, it is what I would call an "old man pub" - thats not a bad thing! It's a really beautiful building with a lovely backdrop! It's not the most modern or the most tidiest of pubs but the biggest surprise came when we ordered lunch. I went for a goats cheese salad with new potatoes and the husband ordered homemade steak and ale pie with chips. Both came out beautifully presented and tasting incredibly! Who knew salad could be so good! The husband's pie was fabulous and the service was great too! Worth a visit if you're driving by and need a bite to eat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLittleWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    33
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived at 19.45 expecting to eat dinner but were told that the last order had just been taken and we couldn't be served. As there is nothing else in the mear area(the pub down the road had also stopped serving!) we askd if we could perhaps get a sanswich or a bowl of soup, but were refused point blank!
This was a great disappointment to us as there were people eating and people waiting for food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

After 5 hours bird-watching going round Hodbarrow nature reserve near Millom in warm sunshine, we needed some refreshment. The Ulverston and Westmorland Ales were excellent, and were served professionally at the correct temperature.

My companions both had the special from the menu-chilli burger with home made chips and salad for £6.99. When their meals arrived I knew I had a mistake to order a Bar-b-q chicken pizza. The burger appeared to be 2 inches thick and was served in a fresh bun. 10/10 for this meal according to the diners. My pizza did not match the write up in the menu about secret ingredients. The base was tasteless and was not what you call home made-the tomato sauce to the taste was devoid of oregano. There was far too much tasteless fatty cheese that was nothing like good quality mozarella. The bar-b-que sauce was inferior to Asda own label.

The three meals and three pints came to £30-the non drivers had a second pint.

We ate outside at the front in views to die for in warm sunshine. Staff were very attentive and we would go back tomorrow, but I will not have a pizza. Now I think it is wrong to be spiteful over my disappointment as I am certain I would have given this pub 5 stars had I ate the chilli burger.

So 5 stars it is. Overall this is a fabulous pub, quirky, with a very laid back style. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broughton
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Went to the highcross for afternoon tea, absolutely fabulous, the choice of sandwiches and cakes (all homemade) was wonderful, brownies, scones and cream carrot cake and half a dozen other varieties were on the table and the pots of tea were endless if you wanted. Liz the landlady and her staff were attentive and very friendly, it was a real treat I would recommend everyone tries it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annebroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just finished the 'Inn Way' to the Lake District, we started and finished the walk in Broughton-in-Furness and stayed at the High Cross Inn both Saturday nights. Liz and Phil took over the running of the Inn exactly a year ago after it had been in the doldrums for a while and in ther own words it is a 'work in progress'. Liz, Phil and all the staff were very welcoming and could not do enough to make us comfortable, the rooms were comfy and clean as was the white bed linen and towels. There was a good selection of meals both for meat eaters and vegetarians and all the meals our group had were delicious. Some of the shower rooms were 'compact and bijou' but for us this added to the fun, and if you want great views then there is no better place to be, brilliant place lovely people...xxxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at this Inn at the beginning and end of walking the Inn Way in Cumbria.
What lovely and genuine people Liz and Phil are; so good to see a place being loved and developed. Food excellent, beds SO comfortable - we were greeted like old friends when we arrived back from our 7 day walk.

Room Tip: There are fantastic views from the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I live locally in Broughton and have been coming to the pub for years. It was always a great place to eat and drink (and great for live music) but then went through a bad patch of being very quiet and closed for a while which was a great shame.
Since the new owners have taken over, it is once again a really great place to go. The food is great and all staff are really friendly and helpful. Food is very reasonably priced and is simple yet great quality (and big portions!) - I recommend their Chilli Burger for anyone who likes spicy food! I am not a beer drinker but my friends who are say that this is good, and they have a wide wide and drinks selection for those who aren't.
I missed the music festival as I was away, but my friends who went said it was fantastic so I hope they make it an annual event (or have another one next bank holiday!). The reviewer below complaining about it should have perhaps been told, but knowing how accommodating the owners are I would be surprised if they hadn't tried to find a solution to keep everyone happy. (And why would the reviewer wait until gone midnight as the festival started mid-afternoon so they had ample time to sort something out earlier!)
I would recommend The High Cross to locals and tourists of all ages wishing to have an authentic Cumbrian experience in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The High Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Cross Inn

Property: The High Cross Inn
Address: Broughton in Furness LA20 6ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton in Furness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton in Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The High Cross Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Coaching Inn with Open Fire and Conservatory Restaurant with Magical Food & Spectacular Views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The High Cross Inn Broughton In Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing