We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stop off”
Review of Old Kings Head

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Broughton in Furness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Kings Head
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“enjoyable stop off”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

stopped off here last week after a shop wife wife and two girls and was again very happy we all had warm beef sandwiches with side salad and chips beef was superb and tender and onion gravy was just superb chips were more like small roast tatties but were very nice wife and girls finished with white chocolate cheese cake with cream which they all gave two thumbs up they left nothing and the extra presention they but in to dress it up with side sauce showed they cared about there work congrats to the chefs brillant easy the best eating place in broughton hands down.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenhambly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    14
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
13
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walney Island
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stopped off at the Old Kings Head having heard really good reviews about the food & service but were a bit dissapointed with the meal which was a lunchtime snack of toasties. The let down came in that the toast was well overdone around the edges and some good bread had been burned. The fillings were excellent quality and the meat plentiful and could not be faulted - shame about the bread!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walney-Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were staying nearby in Millom & after self catering we felt like we needed a slap up pub tea on our last night. I'd looked at their website & thought it looked quite nice so we turned up at 5pm on Thursday & received a friendly & warm welcome. We ate from the early bird menu which was excellent value at £9.95 for two courses & not the usual small early bird sized portions. I had fish & chips, delicious & my husband had the upside down steak & ale pie which I only just managed to taste before it disappeared as it was gorgeous. Our little ones both had a perfect childs size fish & chips & then polished off a tub of clotted cream ice cream, all for a fiver per child.

The staff were friendly & chatty & the log fire completed the cosy factor. It was really family friendly without being too "wacky warehouse". I would highly recommend this pub if you are anyway nearby & Broughton in Furness is such a lovely little town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We called into the Old Kings Head one Sunday late afternoon - three adults and two children. The place was pretty empty but the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. One of the group had a starter of a tuscan sausage soup, which was delicious. We opted for roast dinners and the pie for our main courses and all were lovely. The childrens menu was good - decent choice, not too expensive and the food was good. The desserts sounded lovely but none of us could manage one as the portion sizes were so generous. Much better than last time we went a few years ago and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

went to the kings head in broughton in furness thursday 26th oct with my wife for some lunch a little worried as we had heard indifferent reports of said pub.we need not of worried with a different team in the kitchen its was perfect. i ordered haddock and chips my wife pork sausages with black pudding thats inside the sausage folks on a bed off mash and fresh veg the fish was plentyful and batter just right chips were huge more like roast tatties they were lovely as was my wifes lunch such an differnt taste i can say i have never tasted it comes from the local butcher am told on top off this the presentation off the food was lovely it was well laid out and not just thrown onto the plate little extras that go a long way we have now eaten in all the pubs in broughton and all have been enjoyable but the kings head gets our no1 vote.dont take my word go see youself we have already booked in for xmas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenhambly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We ate here on a Saturday night and I can honestly say it was one of the best pub meals either of us have had. The service was excellent: very attentive and friendly without it seeming forced or being intrusive. The beer was also excellent, I had Loweswater Gold which was wonderful. When we were first served it was the start of a new barrel and the staff insisted on getting us a new pint even though it was only very slightly cloudy. This attention to detail and good service was present all the time we spent in the pub. My only slight criticism would be that the decor could be made to feel a bit "warmer" but this pales into insignificance when taking into account the quality of the food, drink and service. I would certainly recommend it and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Arrived at 2.10 on a Saturday afternoon, the kitchen had closed at 2pm but we were asked if we would like to order a meal, our check in time was 3pm but we were shown to a lovely, very clean room, with plenty of towels, coffee facilities and ensuite. We had just unpacked when there was a knock on the door to say that our food was ready. The food was delicious, my daughter who was with us works at a top hotel in the lakes and could not believe the standard and presentation of the food, definitely above average for pub grub! The same could be said for breakfast, which was served from 7.30 until 11am. Overall the staff could not be more helpful and this was a lovey place to stay. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broughton in Furness
11.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
339 reviews
9.6 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
698 reviews
8.4 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 2 in Kirkby in Furness
14 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 7 in Ulverston
41 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kings Head

Property: Old Kings Head
Address: Church Street, Broughton in Furness LA20 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton in Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broughton in Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kings Head is a beautiful old English pub, with a large bar area and dining room. Games area including a pool table and dart board, Large Beer garden with in built BBQ and stage. 5 en-suit Bedrooms: 1 twin room, 1 family room, 1 single room and 2 Double. Most weekends we supply live music, once a month we hold a pub quiz and Thursday evenings we have a themed menu! Opening Times: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 12:00 until 23:30. Friday and Saturday: 12:00 until Late. Food Service: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday: 12:00-16:00, 18:00- 21:00 Sunday: 12:00-20:00 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Kings Head Hotel Broughton-In-Furness
Old Kings Head Broughton In Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing