We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
antoine01...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Arrived to a perfectly clean cottage, with all the things you'd need being supplied; including kitchen supplies, washing powder, pots, pans, soap, looks roll, lots of towels etc etc. The place was lovely and clean, also with a large book provided talking us though the local area. Bed is super comfy!

The village itself is a superb base, very quiet but still has a few great shops and pubs. Visit the bakery for breakfast and get a loaf! It's glorious! Black Cock Inn and Old Kings Head both did superb food and drink and were dead welcoming.

It's within 40 minutes of Windemere, Grasmere, Hawkshead; and within 25 of Coniston.

If you love the south lakes and being self catered, this cottage and the village are both perfect. Hope to be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalin73
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great property and location”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great stay, the cottage is clean, quiet, well maintained and well equipped. Local shops are very close, we used them a lot to buy local produce.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry L
Buckley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful get away”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Me and my husband decided on a long weekend away just the two of us.
On the day we received a message from Amanda letting us know that copper rigg was ready for us and that she had put the heating on ready. We followed Amanda's directions and found the parking first time, the property is beautiful. Very spacious, light, clean and comfortable. There was absolutely everything that we needed. There was a booklet containing everything we needed to know.

The village is very small and copper rigg was only a five minute stroll. We had gone to the local butchers and bought their stake, possibly some of the best we have ever had. We highly recommend d the pubs all very friendly and warm. Plenty to do and places to see.

Overall a lovely stay and we will be returning with our children!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calbabe75
burnley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed for a week October school holidays, was a fantastic little place, has everything that you needed, very cosy and modern, great butchers and bakery, pubs all very friendly,would recommend broughton in Furness every time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
624yorksh...
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb fairly modern cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Quiet location ideal for a relaxing break anytime of the year. Clean, comfortable and warm with everything we needed. Village in the old sense has everything needed, Butcher, baker, grocer and post office and a couple of pubs; it is well placed for exploring the south west lakes and the coast We thoroughly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrblondeb...
St Helens, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great modern cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Located in the heart of Broughton the cottage has is perfectly situated to explore the lower Lake District. If walking, nice food & good ale is your thing then this cottage is ideal. It has everything required to make it a home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiSMMoni...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this place with my girlfriend for a few nights and was really impressed with it. It is a nice sized two bedroom house, modern, clean, tidy and well looked after. It is well equipped in terms of white goods, kitchenware and even things that go beyond what you'd hope to find, such as board games or toys for the kids. We even found things like tea bags, sugar, salt, cling film and so on, which in some cases and being pessimistic, we didn't think we'd find there.

Another positive aspect was the amount of helpful information compiled by the owner, ranging from useful contacts and references to things to see and do while there.

The property is in a quiet area, next to the fire station and the local surgery, and it is within a couple of minutes from the town centre - if that much.

I can't think of anything negative to point out. It was a great experience and I would definitely recommend this to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the extra items that I wasn't expecting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing