We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something a little bit different.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something a little bit different.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Decided to experience something a little bit different and instead of doing the usual B&B, opted for a gypsy caravan that is situated at The Blue House B&B. We certainly weren't disappointed as the caravan was charming and had a lovely little patio area to the side of it with a fire-pit, which we had going until the early hours of the morning. There is use of a shower room/toilet and also tea/coffee making facilities inside the house via a separate entrance and breakfast is taken inside the B&B. The caravan was small but bijou, with an extremely comfortable bed and lots of candles for lighting. Overall, a fantastic experience that we would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjulieelainex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the gypsy caravan and made such good use of the fire pit. Great photos and I see puppy dog Lossie made herself at home with you! Hope to see you again soon, there is always a plentiful supply of firewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
91
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in the garden room for 3 nights, which was lovely. Tina was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was good too. Overall good value for money. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Blue House B & B is a perfect find and a place I will return to again. Tina welcomed me and showed me to my little room. There are two rooms available, one in the house and one adjacent to the house. I had chosen The Garden Room as it looked quaint and cosy and thats exactly what is was, as soon as I walked through the door there was a log fire burning in the little wood burner in the room. It looked a felt so warm and welcoming and I settled in to take in the delights of the room, which was clean and small but very tastefully furnished and had a special charm about it which made you feel at home. There was a separate entrance from the main house giving you your own front door. The newly refurbished bathroom was lovely and clean and there was loads of very hot water. Tina made me feel very welcome and at ease. Breakfast was lovely and relaxed. The only draw back I would mention is that there is a dual carriageway running close by the house and if you are not used to traffic noise this could spoil any expected peace. This however did not distract me from enjoying a most delightful evening. The house is nestled amid the sheep and hills and I will definately return, probably in the autumn just so that I can take advantage of a warm cosy retreat in front of the log fire once more!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Had a lovely stay with my wife and 2 kids for a chill out weekend just before Christmas. Really homely service from great hosts. Fresh bread and pancakes - excellent.
Comfortable beds.
We didn't take up the option to stay in the outside gypsy caravan but we will be back in the summer to give it a try!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timwyfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Very nice b and b, slept like a log. Tasty breakfast with gorgeous Cumberland sausage! Clean, friendly and very Cosy. Thanks for a lovely weekend and the loan of the map! Best wishes.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed for Cartmel Races and had a fantastic time, perfect hostess.

The room was very cosy and 'authentic' - own entrance so came back a little jolly from the races a bit late and didnt disturb anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHunter96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We booked this b & b for 1 night for an event in Cartmel, what a find... We had a lovely room with a seperate roomy bathroom all very tastefully done. It had a cosy cottage feeling to it as did the breakfast room. A lovely breakfast and great service we will definatley return here on our next visit to Cartmel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runners-world50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
3.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Broughton House
Broughton House
#1 of 14 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Browside Cottage, Ayside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-Century country cottage, set in an acre of garden, in the heart of the English Lake District. Close to Windermere and ideal for the historic village of Cartmel with its famous Sticky Toffee Pudding and Race Course. Home baking, log fires and aga cooked breakfast. Each room has TV, DVD, robes, toiletries and internet access. Dogs and children are welcome. There is a good choice of pubs and restaurants close by - The Crown at High Newton is within walking distance and the award winning Mason's Arms is close by on Cartmel Fell offering good food and local ales. Cartmel village has L'Enclume - a Michelin Star restaurant, standing 2nd in the Good Food Guide's Top Ten, and Rogan's - a river-side bistro in the heart of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Blue House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Bed And Breakfast Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing