We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Oak Inn(Cartmel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Engine Inn(Cartmel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
118
16
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgypsy caravangarden roomlocal pubhomemade flapjackslog burnerthe main housedvd playerprivate bathroommini apartmentbox of chocolateshour accessfull englisha wonderful stayamazing surroundingsgreat breakfast in the morninghome madea lovely nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Had a fantastic one nights stay here March 11th. We had come up for a break in the Lakes for a few days and wanted to spend some time in Cartmel. Tina (the host) was brilliant, very accommodating and helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay hassle free and relaxing. The room itself was wonderful, very clean and welcoming with a log burner which we made the most of with the snowy weather we had! The breakfast was lovely and felt like we were at home. Cartmel itself was lovely and shouldn't be missed, the food is second to none. We will be recommending the Blue House to all we can. Many thanks to Tina for a wonderful stay! Kate and Toby

Room Tip: Choose the garden room if you want the log burner!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjones5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Hi Kate and Toby
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm sorry for the delay in responding - it's been a hectic few weeks and can't believe it's now May! Where did April go to. I am so glad you enjoyed your cosy stay, the Garden Room really comes into its own when the wood burner is blazing and it's snowing outside! Best wishes Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Really just repeating what everyone else has said this place is lovely. We have never stayed BB before and are totally converted if they are all up to this standard. Warm cosy accomodation very clean, loads of hot water for baths just very relaxing and homely. The major asset is Tina the owner who is delightful and cooked a beautiful breakfast with home made bread all served on lovely china, she also made a reservation for our evening meal at the local pub (do go highly recommended !!) helped us find a beautiful scenic route over the tops to Muncaster. Truly personal service and makes a massive difference to staying in souleless hotels

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelass017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your first B & B experience - we always aim to offer a home from home with lots of cosy touches and a good breakfast to set you up for the day! I'm glad you managed to find the route over Corney Fell and I hope you enjoyed your Muncaster visit. Best wishes Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here with my daughter and new addition (2 year old Shih Tzu called Ted) The owners were really accomodating and friendly, and the lovely treats they left us for our girly weekend away, were such a nice touch. The room was clean, cosy and the bed was amazingly comfy (had the best nights sleep in a long while) The breakfast is to die for, and being woken up by the smell of freshly baked bread isn't a bad thing at all. I really loved this place, and they were very accomodating of my dog as well, who wasn't quite as well behaved as he could have been but Tina just took him in her stride, I'm still getting the hang of being a dog owner! I couldn't recommend this place enough, and my only complaint is that it's already booked up for when I would like to return. Other than that, perfect!

Room Tip: I'd like to try the other room but only in the name of variety and the log burner.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaLuka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I am delighted that you had such a comfortable stay and Ted (the ladies-man dog) was great. Mother and daughter girlie time is always a must and I'm glad you had fun on your little trip away. Hopefully we'll have availability for your next visit. Best wishes Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Lovely accommodation. Great breakfasts and some excellent walks nearby. Nice pub up the road, and not too far from Cartmel for great restaurants etc.
The owners are very friendly - gave us a lift to Cartmel in the evening and looked after our dogs while we were out. You don't get much better than that!
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandamelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you, Amanda, for your great review! It was lovely having you all to stay and I loved the way the dogs were so at home - even when you were out for the evening! They were no trouble at all. See you soon! Best wishes Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I recently stayed in the blue house b and b, it was very welcoming and loved the dogs :D It is a short drive from a small village which had lovely cafes and pubs. Not far is the yew barn which is lovely to get furniture and gifts. Also not far is a aquarium it is only small but fun and the tree top trek which is a must!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your review and great to hear you made the most of your brief visit to the Lakes. I see from the photo that the puppy dog sneaked upstairs for a cuddle! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews