We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jasper's Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Jasper's Holiday!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A very warm welcome was received from Tina at the Blue House with fabulous home cooking (try the pancakes for breakfast made with fresh eggs from the hens in the garden) and lovely clean facilities. We stayed in the Garden Room with Jasper (our black labrador) and he loved the visits to our room by the younger resident labrador. Good location for travelling around the South Lakes area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It was great having you both and Jasper to stay and thank you for taking the time to review the Blue House. I'm sorry it's taken so long to respond to your lovely words - it's been a little busy for the past few weeks! Best wishes Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
96
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed at the Bluehouse B&B with my sister, as we just wanted to get away from the hustle n bustle at home. We stayed for 2 nights in the garden room, which was so cosy and the bed was really comfortable. You really feel that you are in your own cottage. Tina was a perfect host, she even picked us up from the station and dropped us off again on the return journey. Breakfast is served in the lovely dining room, which is a step back in time. Plenty of choice for breakfast and also a choice of times too. It was just what we needed to recharge our batteries. Would definitely go back again. If you are travelling around and don't have a car, there is a Free bus which goes between tourist attractions, very handy if you don't drive. The nearest pick up point is only about 15/20 mins walk away. This runs during the summer holidays. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The garden room has its own entrance and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valdon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in the Gypsy Caravan with my partner and our cat Bella. So cosy clean and comfortable with lovely views from inside and outside the van. Beautifully restored and a lovely romantic place to stay. A spotless shower room and kitchen area for those staying in the gypsy caravan to use. We had a brilliant aga-cooked breakfast served in a delightful breakfast room alongside some of the other guests and where we enjoyed fresh baked bread and fresh laid eggs from the chickens. Thank you so much for all the hard work you put in to make our stay so enjoyable.
IT WAS JUST PERFECT!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here in the Garden Room last weekend whilst attending Cartmel Races. The Garden Room is very private, and has its own entrance off the garden, together with clucking hens outside the front door! It is a lovely, cosy room with original features such as the stone flooring & fire place. Tea/coffee making facilities, plus home made flapjacks were provided in the room. The bathroom was ensuite and was equipped with everything you would need. Breakfast was served in the dining room in the main house and was delicious - there was an excellent choice of dishes, and all very tasty. Tina was a very helpful & welcoming host - she booked a table for dinner for us at the local pub (The Crown at HIgh Newton - would recommend) and also gave us a lift to the races! If you are looking for a peaceful B&B, but with amenities & countryside on the doorstep, then give this place a try. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had the garden room at the Blue House B&B, which we would highly recommend. Even though we were in the annexe of someone else's house, it really felt like we had our own space (unlike some other places that we have stayed). The room was very homely with a lovely bathroom that had some fab extras (e.g. candles if you fancied a candle lit bath!). Our host Tina was great in every way - hugely welcoming and massively accommodating. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahB58187058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for one night in the fabulous gypsy caravan. It's cosy, candle lit and beautifully decorated / restored. Tina was welcoming and friendly, the bathroom spotless and breakfast the next morning very tasty indeed, with loads of fresh coffee. I really wanted to stay for longer and would love to return!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stoids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Blue House for 2 nights for a relaxing break after seeing they welcome dogs and the good reviews they have received and we thoroughly enjoyed it ,it is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in! We stayed in the lovely garden room which was so cosy and ideal for our dog to be able to wander in and out of the garden with the dogs and chickens at her leisure, nothing is too much trouble and the homemade breakfasts is ideal just before a days walking. Would love to return again sometime. Colin Anita and Berry

Room Tip: Garden Room ideal with dogs and to sit outside on a sunny evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
2.5 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
3.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
382 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
219 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
956 reviews
1.3 mi away
Broughton House
Broughton House
#1 of 15 in Cartmel
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Browside Cottage, Ayside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-Century country cottage, set in an acre of garden, in the heart of the English Lake District. Close to Windermere and ideal for the historic village of Cartmel with its famous Sticky Toffee Pudding and Race Course. Home baking, log fires and aga cooked breakfast. Each room has TV, DVD, robes, toiletries and internet access. Dogs and children are welcome. There is a good choice of pubs and restaurants close by - The Crown at High Newton is within walking distance and the award winning Mason's Arms is close by on Cartmel Fell offering good food and local ales. Cartmel village has L'Enclume - a Michelin Star restaurant, standing 2nd in the Good Food Guide's Top Ten, and Rogan's - a river-side bistro in the heart of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Blue House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Bed And Breakfast Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing