We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

First of all, the positives: Tina is extremely pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. We were also free to come and go as we pleased.

However, for us, the Garden Room was a little disappointing for the price being charged. The room was not as spotless as it could have been - dust on picture frames, corrosion on the bath and a room above us that we were warned might be used by the owner's son, although this didn't happen. As another reviewer has pointed out - there is one front door to the guest room and you do have to walk across the bottom of the stairs to access the en-suite bathroom, which might prove embarrassing if someone else is going in and out of the building.

Breakfast was good, although do be aware that you might need to be prepared to share the large table with other guests if they have chosen to eat at the same time. For us this wasn't a problem. However, I felt that it was a shame to serve our tea in a pot with a big chip in the spout on two of the mornings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StomWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Manager at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue House and I'm sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. The Garden Room is our most popular room and is currently booked out every weekend through to the middle of November. Bathrobes are provided in the room to avoid any embarrassment when crossing to the bathroom, although there is no one going passed the front door. There is a little corrosion around the plug hole of the, original enamel, bath, plus some chips in the enamel where the shower head has been dropped into the bath but none of these impact on the bathing experience - fully enhanced by the bubble bath provided and the steaming hot water constantly being heated by the AGA. I apologies for the dust on the picture frame but I am rather perplexed by your concern about the room above? There are no other guests in the room above and on the rare occasions our son is home he sleeps in the room above the bathroom. The Blue House is not an exclusive hotel, we are a family run Bed and Breakfast, offering visitors to the Lake District the opportunity to share our stunning location. The majority of our guests value what we offer - the homemade flapjack, Freeview TV plus DVD and a stack of films to choose from, an extensive breakfast selection (the teapot with the small chip under the spout is now in the bin) all locally sourced and freshly prepared, and that we are more than happy to drop any of our visitors off, at no extra charge, in Cartmel, Newby Bridge or Grange Over Sands. Our bed and breakfast rates are the lowest for the whole of the Cartmel area and we are always delighted when guests return time and again - one couple have just returned within 4 weeks of their last visit they were so eager to come back! Best wishes Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
94
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

On reading past reviews we decided to "pay that little extra" for extra luxury and from what the reviews were saying we were very excited about our night away! .... However!!! I'm not sure if an £80 charge for 1 night would be classed as robbery considering the room didn't have an en - suit bathroom... you had to walk out of the bedroom and past a front door and through a hall way to go to the bathroom.... where's the privacy?? Also the owners son was staying in the accommodation above our room... which we were woken when he was running up and down the stairs. The room was standard... just that! Only had 1 towel for the both of us to use after a bath. And the bath robes were unclean... They had a smell on them from previous users. The breakfast was ok as far as breakfasts go... but from reading previous comments I was expecting a little more on my full English. .. I got 1 sausage 1 piece of bacon I egg half a tomato and 1 mushroom cut into 4 slices. Quite tight really. Tina the owner was very nice and welcoming which makes it harder to write this review but I believe in being honest so if you do decide to try this b and b don't go with high expectations it is over priced for what you get!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi Emma
Thank you for taking the time to review the Blue House. I am sorry that your stay wasn't as you had anticipated but am glad to note that you were only Slightly Disappointed. I must admit I was mortified when I went in to service your room after you left and realised I had only put one towel out - it was the end of a busy Bank Holiday Cartmel Races weekend (which also accounted for the higher room rate) and I got distracted from making sure everything was in order in the room. I am sorry that you didn't draw my attention to it at the time as it would have been easily rectified. I can also assure you that the bathrobes were fully laundered prior to your arrival. Our website and our listing on Booking.com make it clear that both the rooms have private bathrooms rather than en suite. We have an extensive breakfast menu offering everything from porridge, freshly baked bread and pancakes to a full english of sausage, bacon, egg, tomato, mushrooms and blackpudding. There is no limit to what or how much you order - one guest this morning couldn't decide between the full english, pancakes and bacon muffin so ordered the lot! My son was home from university for a couple of days but I feel his going to and from his room is no different to a guest who could be moving in and out of their room in any other establishment. We are very lucky that both rooms are in separate parts of the house and no guest has to suffer neighbouring or overhead noise from other couples. I hope you are able to stay with us again one day and I will ensure all the towels are accounted for next time! Best wishes Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night with our 2 dogs. We had the garden room which was lovely. Had a stove in the room, which would've been lovely if we'd stayed in winter.
As most reviewers have mentioned, Tina leaves homemade flapjacks in the room to have with a cuppa. These were delish, and such a nice treat compared to the usual packet biscuits.

Tina was delightful, so friendly and welcoming. The accommodation worked well with the dogs as we had a door to the garden where we could take them out.
Had a lovely cooked breakfast, plenty to eat.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChsReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Blue House and we look forward to seeing you again soon - with the dogs of course! Best wishes Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August - what a great find! We stayed in the garden room, which is a lovely spacious room, kitted out with a tv, tea, coffee, amazing flapjacks (homemade), a sofa and everything else you could possibly need. Slept extremely well both nights and woke up to beautiful views and a delicious breakfast of pancakes and a full english. Everything was perfect and Tina could not be a better host, helping us out with things to do in the area and creating a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The dogs are also extremely friendly and sweet, and absolutely loved playing in the garden - perfect for dog lovers! The blend of professionalism and cosy home comfort is perfect here. The position is great if you have a car, with Cartmel and Windermere a short drive away. We also walked to the next door village for dinner which was great. I would love to stay here again and definitely will in the future.

Room Tip: The garden room is lovely and secluded - like having your own little cottage! Beautiful garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi Sophie
Thank you for taking the time to say such lovely things about The Blue House. I'm delighted that you had such a comfortable stay and made the most of everything the area has to offer - it's a real bonus having a great pub, serving excellent food within walking distance! See you again soon. Best wishes Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here in June 2014.The room was quiet and good size with tea and coffee places to hang clothes and a comfy double bed with a TV in room.Breakfast was very good and the people who run the place very friendly ...they even lent me a pair of shoes for the wedding after I had forgotten mine...it is close to a good pub and an even better tea room with cheese scones to die for. a

All in all an excellent place and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi Eric
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Blue House. It was absolutely no problem lending you the shoes for the wedding, we really couldn't let you attend in your golfing shoes! The cheese scones, and for that matter the fruit ones too, at Yew Tree Barn,just down the road, are sublime! Best wishes Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay, we stayed in the garden room and it really is a little gem, though our stay was in the summer we had no need to use the fire it still created a comfortable and cosy atmosphere to the room, and with its own private front door overlooking the garden, it felt so very private and was very quiet. The added bonus of sitting on the bed with the door open with a cuppa and Tina's flap jacks whilst watching the chicken's and very friendly dogs running around was just delightful. The breakfast was lovely, well cooked and presented in a cosy dining room, i really loved the fact we get to pick the time we would like our breakfast and chose exactly what we want on the slips left in the room and even then you just leave them in the letter holder just outside the room so they can be collected without us being disturbed. My partner had planned a special evening as a surprise to me and Tina went above and beyond to help my partner have everything set up for him before we arrived, we dined at the crown in and again lovely owner and staff very friendly, very clean and tidy we enjoyed our dinner and again they were in on the surprises and even though i had never been before felt like i had known them ages so friendly and welcoming. Located close enough to get to the different area's but not so far away you can't find it, and the added torches in the room allow for getting around in the night a bit easier to highly recommend and both myself and my partner would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi Vicky
Thank you so much for your lovely review and it was a real honour to be able to help organise your special surprise! The Garden Room is a lovely room - you'll have to come back in the winter when it really comes into its own with the stove burning away. Best wishes Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay with our dog, Tina made us feel very welcome and6 the Garden Room was lovely with the added benefit of its own front door.The breakfast was excellent all locally sourced one of the best we have tasted.This is an ideal location for a dog friendly break the local pub called the Crown also made us feel very welcome and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
3.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.3 mi away
Broughton House
Broughton House
#1 of 14 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Browside Cottage, Ayside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-Century country cottage, set in an acre of garden, in the heart of the English Lake District. Close to Windermere and ideal for the historic village of Cartmel with its famous Sticky Toffee Pudding and Race Course. Home baking, log fires and aga cooked breakfast. Each room has TV, DVD, robes, toiletries and internet access. Dogs and children are welcome. There is a good choice of pubs and restaurants close by - The Crown at High Newton is within walking distance and the award winning Mason's Arms is close by on Cartmel Fell offering good food and local ales. Cartmel village has L'Enclume - a Michelin Star restaurant, standing 2nd in the Good Food Guide's Top Ten, and Rogan's - a river-side bistro in the heart of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Blue House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Bed And Breakfast Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing