We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love this place”
Review of The Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went for lunch on the way to where we were staying in the lakes, and we were not disappointed, the setting, scenery are beautiful, the food and drink were excellent, something to suit everyone and reasonably priced. Would love to come back and stay here at some point, you must go it's definitely worth a visit

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank northroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We live locally, 20 mins. drive from The Mason's Arms. We have eaten there on many occasions over the years, outside, in the bar and by booking a table upstairs.
Last week we booked a table for 4 for tonight, we were being joined by 2 friends who had not been there before.
We had looked forward to our visit, arrived well ahead of our booked time of 7.30pm only to be told that we had been booked in for last night! A The restaurant was apparently fully booked and we were told the problem was simply down to "human error" - their's not ours! We understand these things can happen but we believe we should have been found a table in the bar area at the very least. OK, it was busy but people were coming and going all the time.
Our main question was - why take 'phone numbers when people make bookings? Surely if people don't turn up you ring to ask why not so that you can let their table go.
We have had problems in the past at this pub, on 2 occasions we have been overcharged, either for food or by other peoples drinks being added to our bill. We chose to overlook this and return again. But this will be our last visit as we would not feel able to put our trust in the landlord (who failed to help with the situation at all) or the staff that write the bookings down. It's not rocket science to get such a thing right surely?!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank gerrardCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a fantastic weekend with extended family to celebrate an 80th birthday. Diane and John enabled us to keep the whole visit a secret from the birthday boy and as a result the whole weekend ran smoothly with fantastic rooms and fantastic food. Everyone from 4yrs to 80yers loved the pub, the rooms, the food and the excellent service.
Thank you to you all and not forgetting the chef!!
I would recommend the Masons Arms to anyone and everyone, it's just too good to miss.

Room Tip: All of them are fab. Some larger than others but all great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed a night in the Strawberry Bank Suite last week.

This is a lovely place to stay, in a beautiful part of the Lake District. The suite was SO full of character! Loved the bath! The staff are SO friendly and welcoming! And the food was SO good. Dinner was excellent, and breakfast was to die for. Had the full English...as good as it gets.

We needed a break from work. We found it here. This is a lovely lovely inn, with fantastic food and a suite that we will most definitely book again if we can. We chose to eat in the bar as opposed to the restaurant upstairs, since it was quite quiet midweek when we came. What a lovely atmosphere! And some great craic with the troops behind the bar and other guests. Was a real League of Nations, with Aussies and Canuks and Brits. Went for a walk up the fell on the road before eating, was lovely. So so quiet. Views are realy good, and was so quiet and peaceful.

We really loved this place. Will most certainly look to come back again.

Room Tip: Strawberry Bank Suite. Crap view but SUCH an atmospheric and homely suite! Access direct to the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_from_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

First visit to this place (although I realised I had been here 20 years ago as a boy for lunch!) and was very impressed with it.

The Masons Arms retains all the character and charm of the 'old school' with a public bar downstairs, with open fire, flagstone floors and old furniture but with a more modern restaurant upstairs.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and easy to reach from the hotel - as is the car park.

The staff are polite and helpful, with some of the waiters standing out as particularly keen to impress, and being especially switched on.

The view and surrounding scenery is beautiful and all in all, a very pleasant and relaxing place - will definitely return. Thanks for the happy memories.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Honestassesment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Everything was perfect. From the friendly checkin to the good value food. We stayed in the strawberry suite, fantastic double bath and four poster bed. Warm and cosy. Big fluffy towels, tons of hot water, local biscuits and real coffee. Ate in the bar, brilliant local beers. Yummy spare ribs as a starter- best to share as the portions are huge, a homemade pie to follow.
Just one tip, there are some great purpose built places to put candles.. These aren't supplied so take your own!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from a 6 day family stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Diane, John and the team, food, drink, accommodation and staff all superb.

I'd forgotten just how good this place is, writing this review is a real bind - telling others how excellent it is will only make it more popular!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartmel hotels
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
286 reviews
7 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 15 in Cartmel
608 reviews
7 mi away
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Priory Hotel Cartmel
#6 of 15 in Cartmel
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
6.1 mi away
Greenbank Farm B&B
Greenbank Farm B&B
#7 of 15 in Cartmel
54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Broughton House
Broughton House
#1 of 15 in Cartmel
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range: £94 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing