We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful View Disappointed With Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Masons Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful View Disappointed With Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I wish we had just had a drink and sat outside enjoying a warm evening and wonderful views. The meal however was taken inside and I'm sorry to say that you do not have risotto with brown rise which made it very heavy and thick. I couldn't taste the truffle sauce. I wondered why a side salad came with the course but now I think it is to lighten the taste. The staff where very pleasant and friendly but we did not stay longer for a desert as we both felt disappointed and I can say it left a funny taste in our mouths. However, we would visit again for the drive out through wonderful Lakeland lanes with a wonderful view at the end.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    73
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
162
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this pub from the b&b that we were stoping in and it did not fail. Lovely views across the fells before you go in and inside its a lovely old design/original pub which is so hard to find in there days. Food was good and the home made steak and mushroom pie was great. Lots of local beers make this a great find. Only one slight issue are the tiny roads to get there when we used sat nav to find it. Best to ignore sat nav and use the old fashioned paper maps as that shows the bigger roads. Enjoy the pub we sure did

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 20yearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

When my husband told me he had booked us "a room in a pub" for our 2 night break in the Lake District I really was not sure what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised! We stayed in one of the beautiful holiday cottages of the Mason Arms. Our little cottage was so cosy and we loved that the fire was all set up and ready to be lit! The food in the pub was great. We ate in the pub just one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I very much look forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimhaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch on the way to where we were staying in the lakes, and we were not disappointed, the setting, scenery are beautiful, the food and drink were excellent, something to suit everyone and reasonably priced. Would love to come back and stay here at some point, you must go it's definitely worth a visit

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank northroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We live locally, 20 mins. drive from The Mason's Arms. We have eaten there on many occasions over the years, outside, in the bar and by booking a table upstairs.
Last week we booked a table for 4 for tonight, we were being joined by 2 friends who had not been there before.
We had looked forward to our visit, arrived well ahead of our booked time of 7.30pm only to be told that we had been booked in for last night! A The restaurant was apparently fully booked and we were told the problem was simply down to "human error" - their's not ours! We understand these things can happen but we believe we should have been found a table in the bar area at the very least. OK, it was busy but people were coming and going all the time.
Our main question was - why take 'phone numbers when people make bookings? Surely if people don't turn up you ring to ask why not so that you can let their table go.
We have had problems in the past at this pub, on 2 occasions we have been overcharged, either for food or by other peoples drinks being added to our bill. We chose to overlook this and return again. But this will be our last visit as we would not feel able to put our trust in the landlord (who failed to help with the situation at all) or the staff that write the bookings down. It's not rocket science to get such a thing right surely?!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrardCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a fantastic weekend with extended family to celebrate an 80th birthday. Diane and John enabled us to keep the whole visit a secret from the birthday boy and as a result the whole weekend ran smoothly with fantastic rooms and fantastic food. Everyone from 4yrs to 80yers loved the pub, the rooms, the food and the excellent service.
Thank you to you all and not forgetting the chef!!
I would recommend the Masons Arms to anyone and everyone, it's just too good to miss.

Room Tip: All of them are fab. Some larger than others but all great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed a night in the Strawberry Bank Suite last week.

This is a lovely place to stay, in a beautiful part of the Lake District. The suite was SO full of character! Loved the bath! The staff are SO friendly and welcoming! And the food was SO good. Dinner was excellent, and breakfast was to die for. Had the full English...as good as it gets.

We needed a break from work. We found it here. This is a lovely lovely inn, with fantastic food and a suite that we will most definitely book again if we can. We chose to eat in the bar as opposed to the restaurant upstairs, since it was quite quiet midweek when we came. What a lovely atmosphere! And some great craic with the troops behind the bar and other guests. Was a real League of Nations, with Aussies and Canuks and Brits. Went for a walk up the fell on the road before eating, was lovely. So so quiet. Views are realy good, and was so quiet and peaceful.

We really loved this place. Will most certainly look to come back again.

Room Tip: Strawberry Bank Suite. Crap view but SUCH an atmospheric and homely suite! Access direct to the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_from_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Property: The Masons Arms
Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing