We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and service”
Review of The Masons Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Although we did not stay at the Masons Arms, we ate there with some friends who were staying nearby in Crook at their recommendation (they had already been there).
The pub has a nice cosy atmosphere and we were seated upstairs, where we also had the benefit of a nice view from the window.
The staff were really friendly and our waiter, John, was both efficient and very personable.
I had the ribs to start - very messy but probably the best ribs I've eaten this side of the Atlantic (the Americans really know how to cook them too). There was a good choice of main courses at reasonable prices. And for desert, how could I resist the sticky toffee pudding - amazing!!
Regrettably, we had to leave the Lake District the next day, otherwise I am sure we would have returned for another meal.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Harpum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    73
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
49
165
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We wanted a relaxing few days away with good food and drink in the evenings and that is what we got, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again. The staff were helpful, there was plenty of parking and it was very reasonable.

Room Tip: The Bowland Bridge Suite was nice however for tall people the shower wasnt ideal as my husband is 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We ate here while staying in the area. This is the second time of visiting within the last two months.
We love this place, great food, great beers, great staff, all adds up to an enjoyable evening.
The menu caters for everyone and we love their policy of not reserving tables in the bar area. This is a really great pub and we will look forward to returning in August when we are next in The Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I wish we had just had a drink and sat outside enjoying a warm evening and wonderful views. The meal however was taken inside and I'm sorry to say that you do not have risotto with brown rise which made it very heavy and thick. I couldn't taste the truffle sauce. I wondered why a side salad came with the course but now I think it is to lighten the taste. The staff where very pleasant and friendly but we did not stay longer for a desert as we both felt disappointed and I can say it left a funny taste in our mouths. However, we would visit again for the drive out through wonderful Lakeland lanes with a wonderful view at the end.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this pub from the b&b that we were stoping in and it did not fail. Lovely views across the fells before you go in and inside its a lovely old design/original pub which is so hard to find in there days. Food was good and the home made steak and mushroom pie was great. Lots of local beers make this a great find. Only one slight issue are the tiny roads to get there when we used sat nav to find it. Best to ignore sat nav and use the old fashioned paper maps as that shows the bigger roads. Enjoy the pub we sure did

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 20yearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

When my husband told me he had booked us "a room in a pub" for our 2 night break in the Lake District I really was not sure what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised! We stayed in one of the beautiful holiday cottages of the Mason Arms. Our little cottage was so cosy and we loved that the fire was all set up and ready to be lit! The food in the pub was great. We ate in the pub just one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I very much look forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimhaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch on the way to where we were staying in the lakes, and we were not disappointed, the setting, scenery are beautiful, the food and drink were excellent, something to suit everyone and reasonably priced. Would love to come back and stay here at some point, you must go it's definitely worth a visit

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank northroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
2.4 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
7.3 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
388 reviews
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Property: The Masons Arms
Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing